Where to Begin.


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Oxfordshire » Chalgrove
September 23rd 2005
Published: September 23rd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Tis been two days, two drunk days.

I think I'm an englishman. I've been caught drinking endless Strongbows, John Smiths, and Guinesses. I've been recruited by the local cricket team (more explained below) I've been known to say "Howa ya, mate". I haven't yet eaten fish and chips, but I've learned that its not considered normal pub food. Instead it's Chilli Chicken, Monkfish with veggies, and Pidgen Lardens.

My sister's good friend from San Rafael used to date a bloke named Alex, with whom we're staying here in Chalgrove village 45 minutes from London. He lives in a "village" of 3500 folks, but all I seem to see here are the little kids who get out of school at 3, around the same time that Melanie and I seem to make it out of the house due to our Jetlag (mind you that that is 7 AM Pacific Standard Time, from where our body is slowly moving away.)

So today, Mel and I woke at around 10 hoping to catch a bus from the village into Oxford, where the world-famous institution presides. But it was pouring, go figure its England, so we threw on "Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels" a good violent yet funny gangster flick about British gamblers. I told Melanie that she must see it, as her English vernacular is not yet up to par, I think I know a bit and bobbie more. So during the movie Mel falls asleep, and surely afterwards I did the same. So at 3 oclock, we awoke again, and I say "Mel, we're getting on the fuckin bus, it leaves at 3:20." Mel does the best rushjob I've seen out of her, and we make it to the busstop by 3:21, where we continue to wait until 4:20 (hmm) for the next bus. Finally, we make it out to Oxford where many hot young, and seemingly wealthy girls (it is a world-class institution) roam. Many shops, patisseries, cafes, music stores, and pubs grab our attention. We have a great time there, and make it back to Chalgrove eventually for dinner, followed by a night out at the Lord Nelson (by god, I wish I could get pictures up on his computer). Its our third night in a row there, where the beers are cold and tasty, olives and pearl onions grace the tables, and a good laugh is had by all, because there is not much else to do there. There is normally about 5-8 people there that we hang with there.

Oh by the way, I've learned cricket and it rocks. Its so rediculously like baseball, basically in that a pitcher throws, and you swing a bat at the ball, and sometimes you run. So, the other day I asked a bloke about their practice the next day, and they asked me to come out and give it the ol' "College Try". So when I come up to bat, I'm quite agressive like we Americans are at the plate in Baseball (in cricket, a main priority is the protect "home plate" (the wicket) instead of swinging for the fences.) But although I did strike out in 1 pitch two different times, I also crushed the ball twice as far as the others did most of the time, and I got them crusty-toothed Brits laughing at each other for being unable to keep me on my heels. I was actually invited to come out and play in their last official game of the season this sunday.

So, tomorrow is a big Barn Party from 3 pm until 3 am, booyah, and maybe beforehand a trip out to Windsor Castle, which is where the current ruling class in England (i.e. Diana and Charles Windsor, or Queen Elizabeth) lives/d. Wish me luck.

Advertisement



24th September 2005

Sup playa
Hello old boy....very impressed with you cricket playing skills...maybe you can pass it off to the old gigantes...I like to tone of your blog...very conversational and funny...keep it up...pictues are deffinitely needed you can add them after youve published it just go to list entries and then edit and add photos...hmm ciao much love....we need the padres to lose..pray hard...and the giants to finish like fuckin 14-0
24th September 2005

Thank you for this TravelBlog
25th September 2005

American? Playing Cricket? Do you think you are John Candy or something?

Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 24; qc: 94; dbt: 0.0922s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb