Small things for some!!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Nottinghamshire » Retford
September 8th 2011
Published: September 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Belgium Bound!!! I have to make it to Dover first!! By 12.55 at the latest for ferry check-in. Firstly I have to negotiate motorways and the M25!!!! Scared?? Much!!!. Bike is loaded and I'm off down the A1, not a bad morning either, I've still put the rain cover on my rucksack just in case. Got onto the M11 - woohooo 3 lane motorways on my bike - GP ME!! Making good time too so decided to stop for a quick coffee. I got to the services and took my rucksack off - and had the most hysterical image as I realised that I had lost the rain cover, it must have blown off and was nowhere to be seen. LOL This was after someone had joked that I drove so fast that I had to use it as a parachute to slow me down. Anyways, onwards and upwards, I have a ferry to catch.

OMG!!! Dartford Bridge - Enough said I think. I have never been so scared and exhilarated at the same time. Driving down the hill and this structure appears, then the realisation that I need to cross this. Some of you are aware that I skydived a while back - a bit like that. What a bonus having a helmet on - you can scream and scream and scream!!!!!.

That was almost as terrifying as for about 20 miles thinking I had taken the wrong junction onto the M25 (Which I hadn't).

These may seem like very small things to some of you but I have never experienced any of them before - let alone on my own in a motorbike.

All is good, I board the ferry and close my eyes for half an hour. When i wake up I realise that I have to now negotiate motorways on the wrong side of the road!! Easy!!!.

I will cut this part of the story shorter and when I get home I have stories to tell. I eventually got to my destination, in the dark in the pouring rain and (sort of) pitch my tent. I should have been miserable but when I crawled into my sleeping bag I had the biggest grin I have every had. What an achievement!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb