The Big Decision


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Nottinghamshire » Nottingham
December 2nd 2009
Published: December 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Thoresby Hall HotelThoresby Hall HotelThoresby Hall Hotel

You can see why I loved working here!
After months of planning, alot of hard work and scrimping and saving I was finally sitting on the the Piccadilly line tube heading towards Heathrow Airport.

It was then, when it finally sunk in. I was about to embark on a journey that would change my life.

It all started one summer day half way through an 8 hour shift at the place i loved so much.

Thoresby Hall Hotel & Spa.

I had worked for the company for two years and enjoyed every minute of it, it had been my life. I worked within the Call Center with four other girls. Some days felt like a drag and i would end the day feeling exhausted and adimant that i would never return. After a long soak in the bath and a good nights sleep I would always return. Partly because we had so much fun and i loved my job, but mostly because i loved the people i worked with. Not only was they my friends but i felt like they were my second family.

I was sitting outside on my lunch break with tears in my eyes, so far I had been through the
Thoresby Hall HotelThoresby Hall HotelThoresby Hall Hotel

The Great Benefits of working at the Hotel!!!
shift from hell. With Australia still running through my head. Graham approached me and sat down to join me for lunch. It felt as though i was dreaming or watching a movie as i sat there and watched myself. Before he had chance to speak, without raising my head i blurted out,

“lets do it, lets just go to Australia!”.

Within a split second the decision had been made, all the thoughts racing through my mind were gone. Without a second thought i had finally made up my mind, i was moving to Australia.

The next step was to speak to my parents. I have always been close to my mum and dad and leaving them would be the hardest part of starting a new life in Australia. As the phone was ringing my heart was pounding. It seemed like any other phone call i had made to my mum, the greeting was the same as the greeting we used everyday. The conversation was almost identical to the one we had had the prevoius day. All in all it was an ordinary call that my mum had been expecting, until finally i hit her with the
Thoresby Hall HotelThoresby Hall HotelThoresby Hall Hotel

A fun day in the office!
unexpected. “Mum what would you say if i told you i was moving to Australia?”. As i ended the conversation and hung up the phone my mums response was still ringing in my ears “Do it, its an opportunity of a life time don't turn it down”. It was then that the deal was sealed, i had my mums approval and my head and my heart was telling me to go.

A couple of months prior to making my decision graham kept badgering me. “ How about we move to Australia?” After several times of asking he still got the same response from me. We had just moved into a new house and 2 weeks before he broached the subject of Australia i had upgraded my car. I wasn't ready to leave my new life and my family behind for a new
life in Australia. As the weeks went by the idea was still swimming around in my head. The thought was given me sleepless nights, but now my sleepless nights were over and my life was about to change.

Sitting at home that night after finishing my eight hour shift, having managed to escape with my sanity i sat there writing out my letter of termination to give to my manager the following morning. A twang of excitement filled my stomach. I knew there was a long journey ahead of me before i boarded a plane to Australia but the thought of my future excited me more than I had imagined it would.

The following day i went to work with my letter of termination. It upset me to know that i would finally be leaving the job i had loved for so long and to leave my friends i had spent so much time with but i am positive i will meet some amazing friends along the way. My final day at work would be a tearful Friday 31st October 2008.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb