York


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » North Yorkshire » York
July 17th 2014
Published: July 19th 2014
Edit Blog Post


The door to the Minster
I woke up early this morning in time to eat breakfast with my roomies. It was a basic breakfast of toast and cereal. After breakfast, I was able to take a shower and get ready for the day. I was going to check out a free walking tour with White Rose since JY and Philipi recommended it. I ended up going with Francis and Ana, a girl from Italy. It started at 11 and ended around 2. Today was the hottest day of the year in good Ole Great Britain. We walked all over the city and I learned a lot about the York Minster, the castle walls, and a lot of roman things throughout the city. I learned a lot about so many people getting beheaded in York and how it was almost made the capital by Richard the Third. The most interesting fact I learned was about a law that still exists to this day. Apparently, in York, if you see a Scotsman walking down the street with a bow and arrow, you are allowed to kill him. That goes back to hundreds of years ago when Scotsmen would invade York a lot. However, the national law of not

One of the gates to the walls of York
killing people trumps the York law. So you couldn’t really get away with it now. After the tour me and Frances went looking for food. We ate the Olive tree, or something like that. I had this wonderful Greek salad and a side of chips. It was one of the best Greek salads I have ever had. Afterwards we split up and I headed back to the hostel. I got lost because I was distracted by a lot of the shops, but I found my way back to the hostel. I was so tired that I ended up just chilling for the rest of the night. Soon after I was back, Frances joined me. We were hanging out in the Lobby when we met Alex. He is from California and quite a character. I am known for being sarcastic, but he beat me at my own game. We talked for a really long time and then Frances went upstairs. I hung out with Alex for the rest of the night. We watched some British soap, mostly making fun of it, and played pool. I actually won the round of pool because he hit the 8 ball in, but I still won. After the game ended we headed upstairs to our rooms, they ended up being right beside each other. Tomorrow I will head up to Edinburgh! Until then,


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Oldest roman ruins in York


Roman coffins


Ruins of an Abbey


What Diagon Alley was based on


Clifford's tower.


Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0749s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb