Pennine Way 7.


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » North Yorkshire » Skipton
August 24th 2019
Published: August 24th 2019
Edit Blog Post

We’re in Horton in Ribblesdale. Not exactly the centre of the known universe but a lovely spot, by that I mean the pubs good and our BnB is good. Here I can stand up at least which is something I could not say last night.

I’m typing off line and will simply dump when I can. Very comfy here but that may reflect the 3 pints I’ve had. Our BnB mum came and collected us from the pub after we’d eaten pretty well and had a good start with a couple of ciders. Again the ciders are very generic and really only so so but we all make sacrifices. But after showering and making ourselves sort of human we treated ourselves to a cheese platter and a beer. Very nice way to see in the evening after another day of walking. Again we clocked up 40000 steps which means about 27 km again. Tomorrow is a little shorter at about 22 km and in fairly even terrain which we will need as Julie has twisted her ankle and is currently icing it up to try and stop the swelling. Considering we have walked about 280 thousand steps already 3 falls and only one lasting legacy is pretty good. I fell twice in one metre which was spectacular but some of injury free and later I slipped at went butt down so that was innocuous enough. My twisted sister (a phrase for my you her readers) meant that scaling Pen-y-ghent was out and we walked around it instead. Judging by the gradient though we may still be there if we had decided to climb it.



Malham Cove was good but a” little disappointing probably because I’d seen and read so much about it. The hype only just measured up to the reality. Tough climb up and over it then the difficulty remained as there was even more at the top. For much of the Pen-y-Ghent loomed in the distance and reminded us we had plenty of work to do. Well you know what happened.

Had a couple of drinks with some very pleasant and social lads but now we’ll and truely home for the night.

Will post now as the internet here is not terrific.

Remember to look for all the photos. Today 30 odd I think.

Ciao for now.


Additional photos below
Photos: 34, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.31s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1196s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb