Scarbrough March 2008 Rideout


Advertisement
Published: March 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Cream SconesCream SconesCream Scones

Nigel led an excellent rideout and called at one of Jackie and his favourite watering hole for a snackette
Sunday the 9th of March saw a few members of our branch meeting up at one of our usual meeting places, Mc Donald’s at Barlbrough. I decided to take my Honda ST1100 Pan European out this day because I’d had a new rear tyre fitted and I just wanted to bed it in a bit ready for the 2008 touring season.

When I arrived at the meeting point around 9:45 there was only Keven there waiting, which quite suppressed me because normally I’d expect Paul and Lisa to be there very early, unfortunately they were not to join us on this ride out, the reason becoming apparent the next evening at the branch meeting. While we were at the meeting point, a silver Honda VFR joined us with a guy who was Paul’s mate, he wanted to come on the ride out with us but with Paul not being there, decided to go for a ride on his own. While Keven and I chatted, Peter and Kate arrived then Stuart and Lyn and finally Nigel and Jackie which was a good thing because their bike was to lead the rideout.

10:15 and 5 bikes grouped together in Mc Donald’s car park ready to depart with Nigel and Jackie leading and Keven being the rear man. We headed off towards Worksop which we bypassed then up to Blyth and crossing the A1 towards Bawtry and on through to Thorne, then Rawcliffe, Howden and on through Bainton where just after we stopped for refreshments… well Cream Scones and tea for those that aren’t on a diet. Soon we were back on the road towards Scarborough, arriving there around 50-minutes later where after a U turn we all managed to park the bikes close together.

Now on foot, we had a stroll around and Pete took the opportunity to place a few flyers promoting the Egg Run on the parked bikes nearby, not even flinching as he set the bikes alarms off. Walking along the harbour front, I checked my phone to see I’d had a missed call from a friend and a branch member so I returned the call and my phone was passed around the members of our party so all could have a chat with the delightful Jennie who unfortunately was stuck at home with Tennis elbow and a pile of ironing, never mind, next time Jennie. Nigel, now on foot walked us along the Marine Drive, obviously working up an appetite before returning to the marina area for Fish and Chips in one of the many fish bars in the area. Me being a good boy and on my diet declined and headed back to my bike for my feed which I’d fetched with me.

Time was now getting on and we decided to make our way home in time to watch the bike racing, Nigel lead us back along the route we came on with a little bit of filtering through traffic then a fuel stop before cracking on to Howden and a refreshment break, well actually I told him I’d need the toilet on the way back and he gladly obliged, thanks Nigel.

At this point we started to say our goodbyes because in this final leg of our rideout, we’d all start to peel off from the main group and head for home. I said goodbye to everyone here but gave a special hug and wished good luck to Lyn, Stuart’s wife who was to take her CBT the following day. Nigel now headed for the M62 then joined the M18 at it’s intersection. I headed down the M18 for a while before riding past the others making my parting gestures and exiting at the Armthorpe junction and cutting through Doncaster back home.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb