Fountains Abbey


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » North Yorkshire » Ripon
July 1st 2008
Published: July 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Fountains AbbeyFountains AbbeyFountains Abbey

This is called "The Rustic Bridge."
Today we went to Fountains Abbey. It is Britain's largest monastic ruin, founded in 1132 by 13 Benedictine monks. It was sold in 1540 to a merchant following the Dissolution of the Monasteries in 1539 by Henry VIII. It's a shame that so many of the beautiful abbeys were destroyed during that time period.

I tried not to go overboard on the photos in this section. I took 57 photos of the abbey and have only posted the good ones. I have more than a couple not so good photos. I didn't know you could get blurry photos with a digital camera.

This place is huge, you could easily spend an entire day here. Lots of walking paths on the grounds. I was very tired at the end of this day from all the walking. It was the only day that it got warm. I think it got into the 80's that day, very warm for this time of the year there.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Fountains AbbeyFountains Abbey
Fountains Abbey

This is off to the side of a path around the Abbey grounds. I like all the green that comes through in the photo.
Fountains AbbeyFountains Abbey
Fountains Abbey

I love all the shadows in this photo.
Fountains AbbeyFountains Abbey
Fountains Abbey

I really like this photo. I don't know if it's how the sun hits the steps or the framing of the photo, but it's one of my favorites.
Fountains AbbeyFountains Abbey
Fountains Abbey

This photo gives you an idea of the height of the abbey.
Fountains AbbeyFountains Abbey
Fountains Abbey

The building is called the Temple of Piety.


Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0224s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb