The Yorkshire Dales


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » North Yorkshire » North York Moors
September 29th 2006
Published: April 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

North York MoorsNorth York MoorsNorth York Moors

Early morning on the North York moors.
Day 4 was to be my last day and fortunately, the previous day’s showers had blown out into the North Sea and the day started with bright, blue skies. I began to head south towards Nottingham again. I still had a little time to explore the North York Moors though. These moors are a little more harsh and desolate than the Yorkshire Dales but the stark terrain has its own beauty.

The North of England seems a world away from the busy south. With the tiny villages seemingly unchanged for decades, it’s all too easy to imagine that I’m a young officer in the service in the 1940s much like my father was, trundling across the countryside on a trusty Triumph (albeit without Lucas electrics).

Reluctantly, I make my way south towards Nottingham. I stick to the backroads and though the roads are still pleasantly twisty, the traffic increases and the views become more modern and industrial. I dodge one last afternoon shower before arriving at my friend’s house and dropping off the bike. The bike performed flawlessly throughout the trip.

I couldn’t have asked for better English weather in September. In 4 days, I only encountered about
Stark moorsStark moorsStark moors

Heading toward Egton Bridge, not a car in sight.
30 minutes of rain. The temperatures varied from around 70° F/20° C in the sun and down to the upper 40s F/ 15 C when it threatened to rain. While the north of England is no match for Scotland’s beauty, there is still a rustic, timeless charm to the place that I find very appealing.








Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Farm HouseFarm House
Farm House

An abandoned farm house is all that breaks up the terrain. The narrowness of the road is typical of the backroads in the moors.
MoorsMoors
Moors

More vast expanse of moors.
Quaint BridgeQuaint Bridge
Quaint Bridge

A scenic bridge near Egton Bridge.
Tea BreakTea Break
Tea Break

Stopping for a cuppa in the village of Rosedale.


Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0454s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb