Turkey Day and Beyond


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Norfolk » Reepham
November 23rd 2007
Published: November 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday was Thanksgiving. At least it was Thanksgiving in the United States. Unfortunately, the broader population of England doesn't celebrate this wonderful holiday. Luckily, the International Office knew that there would be rebellion if there wasn't turkey, so they offered a meal for us last night. It was pretty darn good- not as good as home-made of course- but totally worth it. I don't know the last time I have been that full! I had turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes, roasted potatoes, corn, green beans with chestnuts, sweet potatoes, pecan pie, and some sort of awesome chocolate pie. Wow.

After dinner, I waddled back to my flat and promptly fell asleep. I awoke about half an hour later and grabbed Ian and headed for the pub. The "American Football" game was on. It was Ian's first time watching a football game so I was able to explain what was going on, a great chance to spread American culture! The game finished about 12:15 our time. I came back to the flat and slept like a rock!

I woke up this morning feeling a little guilty about the large quantity of food I had consumed the night before. So I decided
Natalie's Vegetarian ThanksgivingNatalie's Vegetarian ThanksgivingNatalie's Vegetarian Thanksgiving

aka Monstrous Amounts of Mashed Potatoes!
to go on another epic bike ride. I headed towards Loddon, in the opposite direction of the last monster ride I took. To be honest, I'm not sure how far I went or where I ended up. I passed the broads and rode along the water for a bit. I never made it to Loddon, I turned around before I got there. I would guess I went about 15 miles or so roundtrip this time.

The highlight of my trip was definitely passing the sewage treatment plant. There is nothing like the smell of excrement in the morning. On a less exciting note, there was as brilliant rainbow on my way back into town- if I had been in Ireland I'm sure I would have seen a Leprechaun running around.

I stopped in a coffee shop and finished a book I was reading and then headed back to UEA. I am trying to decided if I should do laundry, then nap or nap and then do laundry. I think the 2nd option is winning!

On a side note, I figure I should give you all an update on my academic progress (yes, I do actually go to class!) I have gotten all of my midterm papers back and have gotten a 62, 63, and 66 on them. But don't panic! These are really good marks! They all transfer back as A's to Bowling Green. The marking system here is a lot different- to get a 100 the work has to be something the professor would publish in an academic journal, so anything in the 60s is actually pretty good!

Good luck with Black Friday shopping!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 11; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0313s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb