Mobilized!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Norfolk » Norwich
August 31st 2018
Published: August 31st 2018
Edit Blog Post

BreakfastBreakfastBreakfast

With Christina’s rhubarb bread.
After cooking my first breakfast (traditIonal English tomato and egg, accompanied by some tasty rhubarb bread that Christina made for me...yum!), my big accomplishment today was driving the narrow twisting country lanes (and navigating three BUSY roundabouts each way) to get groceries. Whew! No animals were harmed in the filming of this epic (two mile) journey; in fact there’s no photo evidence at all...

If I get another good night’s sleep, tomorrow I might be able to face the single-lane, humped bridge in Bawburgh, or the single-lane TUNNEL on the alternate road to drive into Norwich (where, apparently, there is no parking to be found...?)

With practice (and deep breathing), think I can handle the left-hand driving pretty well. It’s getting into the correct side of the car to drive that I need to master. I’ve gotten some odd looks each time I climb into the passenger seat.... I’m also looking into a fairly close Park and Ride “scheme”... Always nice to have choices (such as frying pan or fire).

Not much to show you about my day except my home cooking and what $58 buys at the market. As laid out on the counter, pictured front to back: three slices of Danish ham, a Melton pork pie, Emmantaler (Swiss) cheese, herbed cheese spread, a can each of beans and tuna, salad dressing, honey yogurt, rice crackers, green beans, three peppers, red cabbage, eggplant, carrots, scallions, corn, cucumber, four kiwis, several potatoes and onions, a sack of Clementines, a box of seedless grapes, spaghettI, a variety of specilaty breads/rolls, two bottles of wine, two bottles of spritzers, AND a ? for the table! Not bad, I think. Sainsburys is a combo grocery-department store, like Freddie’s in the PacNW, very nice, clean and bright.

The weather is PERfect: sunny and mild (low 70s), so lunch al fresco was de riguer. A tossed salad and part of a cheese twist hit the spot... Nap time!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

SupperSupper
Supper

The star is Melton (local pork pie.


1st September 2018

Catching up
I got a bit behind in your blog, so I was catching up now on the past few days. I I am really envious of this adventure that you are undertaking. Loved the pictures from London and truly love the pictures from where you will be staying. Have you rented a car? I will look forward to your next entry. Love, Lorraine
1st September 2018

Car
The car is part of my stay (found through SabbaticalHomes.com). I’m doing pet-sitting and plants-tending in exchange for staying almost free (($100/week to cover utilities and $60/month to cover car insurance)
1st September 2018
Supper

You are so brave driving on the "wrong" side of the road. Love your cute old fashioned kitchrn and the weather looks divine!

Tot: 0.211s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0489s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb