Camper Van story continued.....


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Norfolk » Hempstead
May 13th 2011
Published: May 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Well, after a long period camper van stories continues. We left Brownhills and I took over the driving nearly killing us at the big scary roundabout where my husband got quite scared, not a good start, and we finally chugged off on the open road again. Not for long. The van started to slow down, a bad sign, so Robert decided to pull into a farm opening and look at the engine. This involved taking out all my useless packing, quite a lengthy task involving quite a bit of grumping. Then he hummed and haahed and fiddled about with the engine a bit, very boring, but I had my sectret weapon - a page turner- a rivetingly rubbishy book. Finally we put everything back and he drove. We chugged off again towards York. We found a suitable rural sight for the night from the caravanning and camping club big sites book and veered in the right direction. When we had passed through the same village three times and light was beginning to fade with a glorious sunset, a kind person sent us in the right direction. We got out the ancient little tent in which I was to sleep ( he snores so I like separate accommodation) ( he also has his sleep apnoea machine which fills him up with air causing noxious gasses to escape during the night - he says put o occasional realease but don't you believe it!). Unfortunately for me I had forgotten that I had lent this to son Matthew (Matt ) for a festival so it looked quite grubby and smelt of smelly socks and other things which I didn't dwell on. I made my bed as comfy as I could with the sleeping mats (4) the camp bed mattress, an old duvet, my sleeping bag, 2 feather pillows and an extra quilt in case I got cold..... this was Britain after all. More next entry.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0508s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb