Back in the parental home.


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Norfolk » Hempstead
April 28th 2002
Published: April 28th 2002
Edit Blog Post

I left Norfolk when I was 18 to go to Uni and apart from the long summer breaks whilst a student I haven't been back for more than a week at any one time. It's a bit strange being back.

Hempstead is a small village very near Holt, six miles south of Sheringham. It has the grand total of 72 houses, 1 post box, 1 church, 1 public telephone box and fortunately 1 pub. It's a complete contrast to London - time seems to have slowed right down - I've been back about a week but it feels like a month.

The event of the week has been the birth of a foal across the road - the photos here are when it was only about 12 hrs old. Already brave - after I had stood in the field for about 10 mins trying to get a good photo it ran right over to me to investigate - close enough to touch. The mother horse wasn't so impressed - had to stop munching to make sure I wasn't a threat.

Baconsthorpe castle is really a 15th century stately home, complete with gate house and moat. It was built
Baconsthorpe CastleBaconsthorpe CastleBaconsthorpe Castle

Sunsetting viewed over the moat.
on the proceeds of the wool trade. Most of the agriculture now is arable, lots of barley, sugar beet and oil seed rape.

All of the photos here are from places within a mile and a half from my parents home - I like it here ... but I can't wait to get on with my trip 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Newborn FoalNewborn Foal
Newborn Foal

Less than 12hrs old.


30th March 2004

memories
Such memories... we used to play Army in and around the castle back when I was a kid. such a beautiful area.
2nd June 2004

The Foal.
The foal didn't have a very long life. There was an unexpected frost overnight and it didn't make it to the following morning. Sad.
24th April 2011
Newborn Foal

I'm reading your old blogs
I like this photo. I'm reading your old blogs and like this photo.

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 37; dbt: 0.0582s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb