Day 71 Caldy


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Merseyside » Wirral
June 27th 2018
Published: June 27th 2018
Edit Blog Post

For a number of periods during today and particularly during and after dinner we listened to wonderful yarns, stories, reminisces from over the many years by Rob and Mary. Punctuated by much laughter and fuelled by a “few” wines the stories were told with much description and action that Jane and I felt as if we were there watching all transpire, such was the passion emanating from both Rob and Mary. To be honest, we now see Rob in a vastly “different” light! Mary, we knew, at least that’s what Jane had said, was a wild one but now we’re sure Rob held his own when push came to shove. Yes, the stay with Rob and Mary is proving to be the best tonic we could have asked for and definitely a highlight of our journey away from Australia.

Luckily, for Jane and myself, we walked around the river wall protecting the man-made lake at West Kirby, so the drinking and eating we enjoyed throughout the day was free of guilt; well that’s what my conscience kept telling me. For Mary, it was also a day to spend time with her beautiful, advanced and articulate 5 year-old Grand-Daughter, Mollie. I enjoyed her immensely too.

I continued to read intermittingly and have promised myself that I will finish the book I am reading before I hit the sack. Amongst all of the above I also accomplished the washing and ironing of all of my belongings.

Staggering news, welcomed by our hosts, is that Germany is out of the World Cup. Definitely a happening no pundit would have predicted prior to the tournament.

Tomorrow we leave … for a few days, so as to give our hosts a break … from Jane’s constant … I, naturally have been on my best behaviour, not being blood related, etc, etc, etc. Oh Boy, Tomorrow! You will have to wait to see what we leave in. The boy in me can’t wait.

So, I’ll end with a quote from the book I am reading, only because, “I like it.”

“Remember death. Even for those who wield great power, life is brief. There is only one way to triumph over death, and that is by making our lives masterpieces. We must seize every opportunity to show kindness and to love fully.” (Dan Brown, Origin, p321)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.245s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 54; dbt: 0.1228s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb