Let the Beatles Weekend Begin! It's A Hard Day's Night!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Merseyside » Liverpool
June 23rd 2017
Published: June 25th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Ibis Hotel to Cavern Club


Finally going to get another bucket item crossed off my list. After checking into the Ibis Hotel across from Albert Dock, I took a well deserved nap!! The room was spacious for me but I couldn't see two people living here. No TV but didn't need one. The only thing I forgot and didn't like is that while they have AC its not individually room control. Its a central unit on the roof. No problem I thought, I brought a small fan with me! The fan I brought sounded funny when I took it out of my suitcase. When I plugged it in using the adapters, it ran then stopped then started smelling like burnt wire. I quickly unplugged it to see small wisps of smoke coming from it. Luckily, the hotel had a large fan available for me to use.

I was able to walk to the Cavern Club for the 8 o'clock show. Its a 15 minute walk. The path takes you through an outdoor mall. Lots of shops I didn't recognize. Lots of interesting restaurants. I thought the Cavern Club would have something for me to eat when I got there. Mathew Street was slightly crowded. Lots of pubs! Most named with Beatles related words (i.e. Rubber Soul, Sgt. Pepper's).

I got into the club easily. The steps go down in a spiral for about 3-4 turns. Then you're in the club! It was very warm. I stood in a line to get into the live lounge. The Cavern Club had no food to serve unless you wanted these little pork pies that didn't look great sitting in a little plastic box behind the bar. At least I had my bag of almonds in my backpack! Since I don't drink wine or beer I got a bottle of water to drink. It was warm at times underground. I am thankful that Rose got me this little fan attachment that I could use on my iphone. When we were let in, I was able to get to the very front. There was an opening act of a single guitar player who played many songs from the 60's. He was good. At 9:15 the main show began. The Cavern Club Beatles group was great! The man who played as John looked and sounded like the original. The others not so much in looks but sounded great. On Fridays, they do not change costumes. They took a 15 minute break at 10 and then played until 11 pm. I walked back to the hotel but stopped at a McDonald's in the mall that was still open. It had very large computer screens where you placed your order, paid, and then you wait near the counter until you here your number. Very efficient! I tried their chicken wrap which I liked alot. There was a slight mist as I made it back before midnight. Went to sleep soon after laying down!


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Cavern Club Friday Night (1)Cavern Club Friday Night (1)
Cavern Club Friday Night (1)

The original entrance
Cavern Club Friday Night (21)Cavern Club Friday Night (21)
Cavern Club Friday Night (21)

This guy was funny and very cute!
Cavern Club Friday Night (24)Cavern Club Friday Night (24)
Cavern Club Friday Night (24)

Original set used to play in the Cavern Club
Cavern Club Friday Night (25)Cavern Club Friday Night (25)
Cavern Club Friday Night (25)

Original set used to play in the Cavern Club
Cavern Club Friday Night (28)Cavern Club Friday Night (28)
Cavern Club Friday Night (28)

The way to order food! Very efficient and quick!
Cavern Club Friday Night (29)Cavern Club Friday Night (29)
Cavern Club Friday Night (29)

Now just wait for your number to be called out.


Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0321s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb