Surprising Liverpool


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Merseyside » Liverpool
July 1st 2010
Published: July 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Liverpool SkylineLiverpool SkylineLiverpool Skyline

Looking back at the city from the Mersey Ferry.
Liverpool has been a lovely surprise. If asked about Liverpool before starting our trip I would have described it as an old, industrial, shipping city and home of the Beatles. Wouldn't have planned to spend much time here. Because it is close to where we get our canal boat it was a good stopover place so added it to our schedule. As I started reading about it in Lonely Planet: England it sounded more intriguing. It has turned out to be a very pleasant surprise. Many old buildings with lots of history and some areas that look neglected, but also a significant urban renewal with a large section of the downtown a large, open walking mall and shopping area and the docks renovated with numerous shops, restaurants and museums. A lot to see.

Our first day in Liverpool we “Ferried Across the Mersey” and learned the history of the shipping industry here. We stopped at a children's interactive space museum and a salvaged WWII submarine exhibit. Both well done and interesting. Today David visited the Maritime Museum and the Slavery Museum. I also spent some time in the Slavery Museum which covers slavery from a historical perspective and as a
New Mall AreaNew Mall AreaNew Mall Area

Flags along the mall - one for each country in World Cup.
current issue. Liverpool was a key player in the slave trade in the 1700 & 1800's particularly with the West Indies and the US shipping slaves there in exchange for raw materials such as sugar, coffee and rum. I also took time to visit the Beatle Story which chronicles the group from their very beginnings. Lots of nostalgia.

Back to culinary treats. We had lunch today at Jamie's Italian, a new restaurant (3 weeks) owned by Chef Jamie Oliver. We ordered their mixed bread which included foccacio, ciabatta, sour dough, a very thin flat bread, bread sticks and a potato bread. All very good. David had grilled scallops which were very well prepared. I had fish in a bag which was a bed of wheat berries with chopped tomato and fennel for seasoning with a piece of white fish on top. All was in parchment and then foiled and cooked in the oven. It was served with purple sprouts and lemon as a garnish. Wonderful blending of flavors. We couldn't resist the dessert menu. David had a chocolate and expresso torte with a grilled fig as a garnish. I had lemon curd with creme fraische and fresh raspberries.Both were
Fish in a BagFish in a BagFish in a Bag

Not sure how good my food photography is, but this was delicious!
delicious and in reasonable serving sizes. We had a crsip white organic wine with the meal - also quite good. One of the best meals of the trip!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Chocolate and Expresso TartChocolate and Expresso Tart
Chocolate and Expresso Tart

Note the fig on top.
Lemon CurdLemon Curd
Lemon Curd

Smooth and yummy. I love using these technical culinary terms.


3rd July 2010

I'm drooling!
Gosh, that meal sounded delicious. I would have had the same first idea about Liverpool. See how we should avoid first impressions? I began humming "ferry crossed the Mersey....." I never knew it was a real place. Cool! Gerry and the Pacemakers: Life goes on day after day Hearts torn in every way So ferry 'cross the Mersey 'cause this land's the place I love and here I'll stay People they rush everywhere Each with their own secret care So ferry 'cross the Mersey and always take me there The place I love People around every corner They seem to smile and say We don't care what your name is boy We'll never turn you away So I'll continue to say Here I always will stay So ferry 'cross the Mersey 'cause this land's the place I love and here I'll stay and here I'll stay Here I'll stay Happy Canaling and finding new surprises around each bend!

Tot: 0.355s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0736s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb