I Say, Which Way to Hogwart's School of Witchcraft and Wizardry?


Advertisement
Published: June 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Great Central RailwayGreat Central RailwayGreat Central Railway

A view from Platform 2. Notice the old bicylces at the back of the photo in the corner.
First of all I want to thank everyone for keeping up with me during my travels. It is good to know that I can share these experiences with family and friends, and if you're reading this blog, then I definitely put you into one of those categories! So, this edition may be a favourite for some of you and I hope the pictures are enjoyable.

What do you do when you have a gorgeous day in England? Well, if you're in Leicester, you take the train north to Loughborough (pronounced Luffburra) Station, catch a taxi to The Great Central Railway and hop on an authentic steam train from days gone by.

Run completely by volunteers, The Great Central Railway exists today because of railroad and steam train enthusiasts; however, it was once a vital link from Manchester in the north of England to London in the south. The original line opened in 1899 and carried passengers as well as freight such as fresh fish, stone and coal. By the 1960's other railways and travel by road began to overtake the Great Central Railway and eventually the line closed. What remains today for the visitor is a recreation of what
Green ArrowGreen ArrowGreen Arrow

The front of my steam train. Isn't she a beauty?
steam travel was like all those years ago.

Walking into the station is like walking onto a movie set as things appear much as they would have in the early parts of the nineteenth century. A small museum gallery of railroad artifacts awaits those interested and for those who just want to warm up with a cup of tea before the journey, a small refreshment room dating from the 1940's or so is a great place to soak up the atmosphere.

Once on board the steam train, you can make yourself comfortable in the dining car, or even a private two booth seating section just like the kids from the Harry Potter series ride in on their way to Hogwart's. In fact, some of the steam train footage from the movie was filmed on the very railway line I traveled on. There are three stops before the train returns to Loughborough Station and the whole journey takes about an hour. Don't think that's all you can experience for 12 quid (that's about twenty American dollars). The trains run at various times throughout the day and you can hop on and off as you like.

I opted to
My ConductorMy ConductorMy Conductor

This was my conductor for the afternoon. Doesn't he look like he was born to do this job?
get off at Rothley Station and took a walk into Rothley Village. On my way I stopped into an Inn along the way, which must have been someone's home built in the fifteenth or sixteenth century. It even had an old stone church built onto the side of it. There was a lovely garden area and by my standards was quite palacial.

Further down I found I public footpath which England is loaded with and set out on that. I walked through a pasture with horses and was lucky enough to pet one. The real excitement started when I spotted two boys of about 10 or 11 practicing cricket. I asked if I could take their picture and they agreed. After I took the shot, I leaned toward the fence they were behind to show them their picture on my digital camera. This being horse country and all, the fence was DC electric and I got several shocks in the bum. It really hurt quite a lot but I continued on my walk and eventually found myself back aboard the train and on my way back.

What a day this was! Unforgettable no doubt.

(The historical information
Tea Anyone?Tea Anyone?Tea Anyone?

One can sit down in this quiet period room and have a cuppa before their train ride.
above was taken from the Great Central Railway brochure. If you would like to learn more about this adventure you can log on to www.gcrailway.co.uk)




Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Seeyas!Seeyas!
Seeyas!

A shot of my train leaving me to my epic battle with the electric fence in Rothley.
How QuaintHow Quaint
How Quaint

This is a great shot of Rothley Station. You can just make out two of the volunteers dressed in their period costumes.
Rothley Court HotelRothley Court Hotel
Rothley Court Hotel

Just a ways down the road is this gorgeous 15th or 16th century hotel. I would imagine it is big bucks to stay here. I didn't ask. I just had a drink in the courtyard and pretended I lived there for half and hour.
Cricket Anyone?Cricket Anyone?
Cricket Anyone?

I found these kids enjoying a little cricket practice. The rather enjoyed seeing me get zapped by the fence which you can just make out in this shot.
Just Gorgeous!Just Gorgeous!
Just Gorgeous!

This is the kind of thing you see when you walk along the public footpaths in England: old stone fences and beautiful flowers!
Back On BoardBack On Board
Back On Board

Here's my ride back to the station. Gotta run!
My Train CompartmentMy Train Compartment
My Train Compartment

Isn't this the bees knees? I even shut the old sliding door for more effect. I pretended I was going to Hogwart's to fight off the evil Voldamort with Harry, Ron and that painfully annoying girl whose name I can't spell.


2nd June 2006

it sounds like you are having a great time. I am enjoying the pictures and comments to follow. Keep in touch.
2nd June 2006

Hi LAURA
Hi Laura it's Mahassan and Megan is here over at my house and we just wanted to say Hi and we miss you! Hope your having funnnnnn! ♥ Mahassan and Megan
3rd June 2006

Left at the light..........
Take a left at the light,go straight until night,and then you're on your own.I believe Bruce Springsteen said that.Don't recall which song though.It is a good one though.I hope that i've helped with directions to the school.Toodles! Joe
3rd June 2006

Climbing the Family Tree
By George, I believe you have re-invented yourself into the 16th Century. In climbing the family tree, I believe we are of the "Rothley's". So don't just pretend.....announce you are a cousin from America. What a great trip you have carved out for yourself. Not the everyday common tourist areas so we will categorize you right along with the Aussie traveler and Rick Steves. Bravo!
3rd June 2006

Surprize!
Sounds like you are gathering lots of memories; love your pictures.
4th June 2006

Mamser!! I didn't even realize I could leave comments until now. The pitures make me want to visit Europe anymore. You really should persue something in travel journalism because you love to travel and you can write as well as take great pictures. Hope youre having fun and we are all anxious for you to come back and tell us some stories!!!! And Churchill sends you a great big loud purrrrrr. love, Stacey
6th June 2006

The steam train, reminds me of the book "The Little Engine That Could"

Tot: 0.266s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0711s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb