Fun Times Around and About Leicester


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Leicestershire » Leicester
April 18th 2009
Published: April 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Around and About Leicester


This entry might be kind of boring. I am mostly talking about some things I have done around the town I am living in and some things I have done with friends. But since I cannot travel out of the country every weekend and I want to see some of England here are some of the things that occupy my time here. Sorry there are no country hopping adventures or anything scandalous in this entry, keep your fingers crossed for the next entry.

Some of the other random things I have done around Leicester are visit a nearby town, go out with friends, and go shopping with the girls. Valentine’s Day weekend, while staying in Leicester I took the bus to uncharted territory with a couple of girls on my study abroad program. We took the bus out of Leicester to the neighboring town of Market Harborough. One of the other girls on our program had been there with her dad when he came to visit and said it was a nice place for an afternoon, so we went to check it out. The ride there was quite scenic; we had to go through a couple of small towns and the countryside to get there. Once we arrived we spent our time just walking about seeing the indoor market, the old school house, and the church. We did a lot of window shopping and went into some of the charity shops along the way. Before heading back to Leicester we went to a small tea room and had a cup of English tea. It was the perfect place to just get away from Leicester for awhile.

Another weekend I went charity shop hunting with my neighbor, Leanne, and Sharron. We found several shops in the city center and some neat vintage ones as well that were selling every thing from suspenders to picnic baskets! It was just a nice afternoon with the girls.

Leanne, my wonderful neighbor, also had a birthday this semester and celebrated by throwing a 80s themed party. There is always a reason for the Brits to come up with a fancy dress theme for an outing! It seems like everywhere we go on the weekend there is some group out for a themed night! Leanne went all out for her party by getting Neon paint and even candy that was popular in the 80s!
The Shires!!! The Shires!!! The Shires!!!

Lord of the Rings anyone?
We all had such a good time! Sharron dressed in 80s workout gear, I dressed as 80s punk, and everyone else was just a jumble of spandex, leg warmers and outrageous patterns and colors! For her party we started in out hall by just hanging out, where I got into a bubble blowing contest with Grant and Mark. It took us forever to try to get a picture of all three of us with bubbles! I’m actually not sure if we ever got one! Our jaws hurt SO badly after that! Then we all went to the Union dance club which is called Madfer-It on Friday nights. It is pretty fun to go there and go dancing, but we are always so tired the next day!

Well that is the extent of the things I do outside of traveling, well probably not a complete list, but it gives you a basic idea.



Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Neon PaintNeon Paint
Neon Paint

yeah their pretty hardcore with their dressing up
Bubble Blowing ContestBubble Blowing Contest
Bubble Blowing Contest

we did this forever! my jaw hurt so bad! this is Grant, Me and Mark
Attempt Again!Attempt Again!
Attempt Again!

we were trying to get a picture with all of us having a bubble... it is harder than it looks!
Leanne and ILeanne and I
Leanne and I

BEST neighbor EVER!
Madfer ItMadfer It
Madfer It

Dance club at our Union
Girls DancingGirls Dancing
Girls Dancing

Angela, Phillipa, Sharron, Michelle, Madison
Bus Ride HomeBus Ride Home
Bus Ride Home

Leanne, Sharron, Madison, and I
On the BusOn the Bus
On the Bus

Madison, Sharron, Michelle and I
Shopping trip!Shopping trip!
Shopping trip!

Us girls went shopping in charity and vintage shops one weekend and Sharron and Leanne found these awesome abomidable snowmen gloves!


Tot: 0.252s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0629s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb