What has Clitheroe ever done for us?


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Lancashire » Clitheroe
January 5th 2017
Published: January 5th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

5.1

Clitheroe

National Sausage Day



Being that I spent the third with a lot of Christmassyness, I decided not to do Twelth Night (or what you will), nor celebrate the Serbian and Montenegrin (Montenegron?) celebration of Tucindan, although I do one year hope to hold my children to ransom until they give me a gift. But alas, I have no children to demand gifts from. So sausage day it is, and i have celebrated they way i know best... Sausage sarnie for breakfast, and a sausage roll for my lunch (thanks Dad!), as well as adding a sausage recipe to my book to try out at the weekend.

There's honestly not a lot more to say about the festival. I haven't been able to find much about the event's history, but there are quite a few people tweeting about what they have had today to celebrate, and also @handmadeBurger (a restaurant) has put out a controversial tweet demanding us to vote on whether a burger or a sausage is better. I am not ready for another referendum... So I have replied to their tweet letting them know, in no uncertain terms, that they should back off, as they have their own day later on in the year (31st August).

I have had a look at the Harbin International Ice and Snow Sculpture Festival which begins today and which I'll have a closer look at closer to the end when the sculptures have been sculpted. Weather permitting, the sculptures will stay in place a little longer.

In Tsurugaoka Hachiman, there has been a festival to keep evil spirits away where archers fire arrows at a target labelled 'devil'.



Tomorrow will be a much more sombre affair, As I will be learning about Pathet Lao.

Advertisement



6th January 2017
Lunch

Food photos
I love photos of food
7th January 2017
Lunch

More food!
I've just made and eaten a Russian Christmas Dinner. Very yummy! pictures on the most recent blog :)

Tot: 0.358s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0611s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb