Open your f%*king eyes umpire


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Lancashire » Blackburn
September 15th 2007
Published: January 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

My final game of cricket for Barrow was in Darwen, this was close to where Todd was staying in Wigan so I caught the train. This game was supposed to see me get 5 wickets, hit the last ball for 6 to win the game and rightfully get all the praise and glory. Unfortunately no one told that to the opposition. Their pro especially didn’t want to co-operate scoring a meager 205 not out. They declared for 310 off just 45 overs. Needless to say there were some pretty awful bowling figures. I managed to take 2 wickets, but for 50 runs off 5 overs (for all you non-cricketers that isn’t awesome). I got a bit angry if truth be told as I ran their pro out with a direct hit when he was on 150 but the umpire had his back turned. I used some colourful language and I don’t mean red, blue or green.

Some of our young players batted really well in reply and we managed to salvage a draw. Johnny Miles scoring an unbeaten century. I was in at the end and managed to hit the last ball for 4. Not quite the dream finish to my Barrow career but it could have been worse.

Afterwards we had a few beers and donned our ‘sh*t shirts’, mine a lovely light brown silk number featuring a smattering of dolphins.

I really enjoyed my time with Barrow CC and thank all those players I played with, especially Wilco who introduced me to the club and carted me all over the show. I had a blast on and off the field and wish you all the best for the coming seasons. Hopefully I will get the chance to play alongside some of you in the future, maybe in New Zealand. (I’ll be the one who looks like Where’s Wally).



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0372s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb