Getting ready for 2015, universities, temporary work


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Kent
November 3rd 2014
Published: November 3rd 2014
Edit Blog Post

On the 29th of October I made a last minute booking for a open day at a university at SOAS. I'd heard about it a year ago from a friend of my headmistress whom lived there for 10 years and she suggested I have a look. A year ago I laughed this off, thinking I'd never be able to apply for such a thing as university, but soon after I moved for college I manage to get to grips of the reality of their entry requirements and when my tutor said I'm in a strong position to secure a place, I was literally so stunned.

So, lately we've all been considering and talking about what we want to do afterwards, previous students went on to managing work within the tourism industry after doing NVQ which doesn't really suit me I feel. I went on the UCAS website as recommended and searched Japanese and alas SOAS popped up and so I was attracted to this one immediately and the entry requirements seem more approachable than Greenwich.

I went to London alone, from Charing X to Russle Square. After getting lost for an hour and ending up doing a massive circle, I ended up taking two tubes- The Northern Line and Picadilly. Because I didn't really plan what I was going to do this day I was really scared and the underground was so hot- I'd only eaten a poptart that day so by 3 o'clock I was almost fainting.

After the GPS going crazy on me and losing my position, I finally found the hidden building. My first impressions was that it was a nice small university and people whom were either staff or students were rather friendly and I settled in rather nicely. The only downer was that there was a lot of waiting around, I timed it rather well, giving myself an extra hour in case I did get lost, which I did but also having too much time.

However, I was in time for a 40 minute introductory lecture for Japanese conducted by Aiko. I sat at the front next to another fellow student whom apparently was keen on the subject too and we were both fighting to answer the questions first and pointing where each destination was from- Hokkaido, Kyoto, Osaka, Tokyo and Hiroshima. I was pleased that I remembered.

Then there was a talk about the course, the one I'm interested in is BA Japanese, but there was also Japanese studies as well although it doesn't include a year away you can combine it with your major, but I'm not entirely sure how or what benefit I'll receive. All I know is that I'd be thrilled if I can get a place and study abroad.

Now I'm really worrying about finding work to not only prepare for student loans and fees but also funding my trip to live all year around-- if my dad could be a bit of enthusiastic about the whole thing I'd try to talk to him about it, but I'm trying really hard for a new job that'll last me.

It was both assuring and possibly obvious to meet other people whom loved the country as much I do and not actually have been there, so it makes me feel I'm doing it right to dedicate four years in SOAS.

http://www.soas.ac.uk/japankorea/languages/japanese.html.html

I'd also been to another job fair at my local shopping centre. That was a bit of poo as it was for recruiters based elsewhere, but luckily there was a Job Centre type table for recruiters to review one's CV and see where you went wrong- apparently I was wrong from top to bottom. I find CV's to be very touchy because not only do the rules change every month, they also expire quite easily too, for example- skills, personal statement, train of thought to add more. I seem to have changed mine more than 15 times in the past 5 months.

However, since that day I got two more employers today. I got bored waiting for that Christmas Grotto job to take place so thought I'd be proactive before December. These two are Whistle- a clothes shop and a fish and chip shop. That one my mum turned her nose up immediately because I'd be working with frying oil, but in my position I know I cannot be picky.

I recounted my money and added £70, usually it's a monthly £30 but since my previous failed job in Covent Garden I never added my earnings to the lot so I used my dad's allowance to replenish it, especially since this month I had a huge craving for Ramen and had a cheeky bowl. So now I have £995!!



Next week I go back to college after a half term, I really appreciate my time off these days as my tutor can really suck the energy out of me and the whole class. She's scary and quite rude sometimes, but nonetheless approachable for help. We have a trip planned for the World Travel Market, apparently that's another chance for us to look for work so we must look nice- I'm going to be cycling that day so I don't know how or if I can pull that off, unless I can pack my nice heels in my bag.

I'm also stressing about this assignment or assignments I'd been having to do since October, although we all over thought it and probably did a lot more unnecessary work that necessary- it's better to prove that we tried hard to squeeze everything in than what this girl from college did and take 2 weeks off in the middle of term. I didn't like her so I just smirked when she complained at the amount of work she was greeted with.

But this makes me guilty for when I go to Japan in March, but I negotiated with my mind- my Boyfriend has got exams to do too after I go home, so if I could get my tutors to tell me what I could do whilst I'm on my holidays, we could work together- which is what we usually do on Skype anyway, but this time- for real!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb