Home Again


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Kent » Rochester
December 16th 2010
Published: December 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well, i have now been home for two days and am slowly starting to re-adjust to a Western life. It is a very strange feeling to be back, whilst knowing that life continues in Chittagong without me. Today is Victory Day in Bangladesh, a day of celebration which i would have liked to see.

My few days spent in Dhaka were wonderful, i was a true tourist for a while, seeing some very impressive old buildings, living the Dhaka life style, finding foreigners at every turn and, even, taking a small boat out onto the Buriganga River. I even found myself an authentic, and incredibly tasty, Italian Restaurant in the heart of Gulshan - an area dominated by Embassies and the wealthy.

I continue to miss Chittagong and the people i have met. I am receiving messages from students regularly, telling me that they miss me and wish i was back teaching them. I had a number of phone calls from teachers and friends before my flight wishing me the best of luck and telling me how wonderful it has been to know me. As my previous blog stated, it is the people I have met that truly made my three months the best they could have been. And this didn't end in Chittagong. My tour guide in Dhaka was a wonderful and interesting man; i was looked after at the school in Dhaka by a great guy and, on the plane home, i sat next to a lovely Bangladeshi living in London - the flight went very quickly because we spent the entire flight chatting and getting to know each other.

I am happy to be home and to be able to catch up with everyone. But i am also sad that my adventure is over. I know, however, that this is just the beginning for me and my life will hold some truly amazing times ahead.

Advertisement



6th February 2011

just discovered this blog! really really interesting esp. as I'm moving to Chittagong in August for 10 mths (scary!) to work at the AUW.....any tips/pointers would be amazing

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0425s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb