Gobsmacked


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Kent » Rochester
May 17th 2007
Published: May 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I'll never forget the moment I first saw London. As the plane was descending the clouds parted briefly, right over the heart of the city, showing us Big Ben and the London Eye. I couldn't contain myself; I was writhing in my seat and exlaiming with such fervour that Alice was certain I was going to cry from joy. But at that instant, it all became real. All my life I've loved learning about other countries, but they've never seemed entirely real. Because I hadn't seen them myself, they could still be an elaborate deception. But when those clouds broke, all of my unbelief was shattered, and I'd suddenly stepped into the pages of National Geographic for myself.
The best way I can think of describing England to you is as an alternate reality. Some things are exactly the same; for instance, the paper I read last night had a review of the same Canadian artist's album that was featured in the last review I read at home. They have Safeway, McDonald's (of course), and Krispy Kreme (which we don't have anyways I guess). But their toothpaste is gangsta: "Duraphat" it's called, and it took me forever this morning to discover that the shower is turned on by a pull cord across the room, rather than the knob and series of buttons that control the force and temperature of water. We're staying at Alice's friend Rachel's house, along with her parents. It's a "semi-detached" brick house, as all the housing seems to be here.
Rochester isn't too large; it has up banners for Dickens Fest, which happens in June, and has an inn called "What the Dick Inns". Out the window I can see some of the classic rolling country hills, which are just as beautiful as I'd expected, only more real. As we took the tube out of Heathrow, I was shocked to see that the brick tenements, which at first seemed as picturesque as a Shirley Hughes illustration, stretch on and on for dingy miles, quite depressing really, especially when mixed with old abandoned factories all beneath a cloudy sky. Housing here is, like everything else, extremely expensive. Rachel and I were comparing prices of things and arrangement of school systems this morning; I'm having fun discovering differences, especially in the language!
I noticed quite quickly that everyone here dresses much more nicely than in Victoria. No LuluLemons or flip-flops here. And ladies, yes, there are LOTS of good-looking guys here with lovely accents, but from my observation you can only have one of two types: hipster (i.e. skinny jeans, long hair) or business (i.e. suit and tie). I still haven't got over the kids in their school uniforms speaking in documentary-perfect accents; I still squeal quietly after they walk past. As you can see, I'm enjoying myself quite a bit. Jet lag really isn't too bad; it's only like recovering from a really bad night's sleep at home. I feel quite rested now, and am looking forward to exploring a bit today, despite the fact that it's a grey afternoon once again. I think we'll wait to see London on Saturday, at which point I'm sure I'll have lots more to tell you.

Advertisement



20th May 2007

well missie, i have floods of memories coming back to my first travel experience and i am grinning as i hear about your airplane seat squirming and giggles of glee! i love that i get to share this excitement with you even though i am miles away... i love seeing things with fresh eyes and you have inspired me to do that today. despite the pouring rain and dreary day i feel like there is exploring to do and you are to thank for this. i am looking forward to living vicariously through you and all your wonderful descriptions... keep em coming! in the wise words of my cousin, "stay away from the boys!!!" haha. hopefully you will listen to me better than i did to you ;)

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.033s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb