Testimony


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Kent » Otford
September 2nd 2007
Published: September 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

The crossThe crossThe cross

... we are not in need of anything else.
I am one of those who never know the direction of my journey until I have almost arrived

Ps 139 v 9 - 10 If I rise on the wings of the dawn, if I settle on the far side of the sea, even there your hand will guide me, your right hand will hold me fast.

Never have these words rung more true then now. I have seen God’s hand at work, particularly over the past 8 months - where I have had no idea what the next step will be. I have been deeply challenged with regards to laying down my life, and “seeking first His Kingdom and His righteousness, and all these things will be added to you as well”. For months the heavens seemed silent in answer to my pleas for direction… There also seemed a few doors that could possibly be right, until eventually I narrowed it down to two. But at the end of the day, the above verse was what made my decision: is it empty pleasures, a “chasing after the wind”, or will I pursue His kingdom…? Strangely it was hard, as I didn’t really have a second plan as to
The cross fieldThe cross fieldThe cross field

Beautiful field at the back of the manor where there's a cross.. a lovely place to go and reflect!
how to pursue His kingdom - but it was only once I’d decided to close the door, that things just started coming together.

Prov 3v6+6 - trust the lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding, in all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will make your paths straight. During July I was living day to day with Debs and Myles, not knowing where to from there. But He kept telling me to trust Him… and seek Him and His kingdom…Since then, I have been in awe at how God just needs a willing heart, and the rest is up to Him. In fact, it is when we are in way beyond our depth that God gets all the glory!

I cannot accept that God has a vague plan - or a general plan for us, there is too many indicators in His word that He is a God of the detail, and gives very detailed instructions with regards to how to do things. Being a disciple of My King is an adventure far beyond what I’ve ever had. A month ago, I would never have dreamt that I would be leading 99 people to a country that I myself had never been to, and would have the opportunity to pray for / with people who were really needing Jesus. I have often thought of missions for the third world countries, and the “very poor” - but there are thousands of people who are so blinded by materialism, that they too are walking blindly off a cliff. It seems almost harder here where people’s need for Jesus is being covered up by the meaningless things of this world. Or where they know the truth, but have become stuck in a comfortable “rutt”, and have lost the fire and passion that they had when first saved. Praise God that He is at work in drawing us all back to Himself.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 18; dbt: 0.0256s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb