Familiar Surroundings


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Kent » Dover
April 23rd 2008
Published: April 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

So, back in the UK, safely collected and on the way to Grandmother's house, who, for future reference, is generally referred to as Nanny May. Nanny instead of grandmother and May, short for Mavis. Hence Nanny May. My other grandmonther's were all Nanny's too. Oh, and Nanny May is my Mum's mum.

After an interesting ride we made it safe and sound, and I even managed to recognise some places along the way despite the fact it was really dark and clearly some things have changed since I was here last. Like the sea wall. Because due to recent (-ish) storms, the seawall has been rebuilt, higher and stronger, so unfortunately, unless you are taller than me, you can't actually see the beach, which, for those of you who are curious, consists of lots of large pebbles. Not much like Cottesloe but I wasn't planning on doing any sunbaking or swimming anyway - I would most likely freeze to death first!

At last a cup of tea! And chatting with Nanny May, Aunty Susan (my Mum's sister) and her husband Mike was a great way to settle into being back in England. Soon enough, it was just me and Nanny May, and we were soon sharing a glass of red and feasting on spaghetti bolognaise, chatting away as if it hadn't been what felt like a million years since I'd seen her. It took me a while to realise what was different. This was the first time, ever, that we had ever really had this much time alone to just relax together. All the other times we had been visiting with the whole family or I was with Chris, so this was a new thing. And a great thing. It had been really cool to connect with her on an adult level and it is kinda scary how similar we are! Genetics is scary!

Despite many offers to take her bed, I settled in to the couch and soon enough was getting ready for my first day back in Kent. We headed into Folkstone to the antique shop where Nanny May works and after pottering around the shop for a while, I wandered into town to hit the shops and pick up some much needed phone credit! I also managed to buy some new pants, which although not quite warm enough for the current weather, were representative of my desire to stop wearing the same two pairs of jeans. I still have marks on my legs where the seams on them sit!

After lunch with Nanny May at a little place on the waterfront (Folkstone sits right on the water)and much laughter about the crazy system of food service they had going on (what on earth do they do when it rains? or snows?), we were off to the hospital for an ear check up which really translates to some time with a spunky doctor. Now, this may sound a little weird, but when we were walking across the oval to the hospital, while pointing out a dog that was playing in the park, I actually called it a doggy! Now clearly there is more than one thing wrong with me, but jeepers! I am clearly regressing back to childhood!

On the way back I got to drive which was fabulous because I had forgotten how much I like driving. This was also a massive show of confidence in me from my grandmother! We spent the rest of the afternoon laughing at old photos and it was amazing to see how alike everyone is - Gnome you look soooo much like Mum is some of these pics it's incredible!

That evening we caught up with Julia - yes, Goat, for you Gnome - and headed out for an Indian. Yum! I looooovvveeee Indian so this was great and I think we totally over did it!

The next few days were filled with updating the blog and msn-ing and emailing with friends, not to mention meeting one of Nanny May's friend's who I think may have a problem - she is an antique collector/seller too, but this lady has way too much stuff! It is totally mad.

There was also lots of giggling, especially after Nanny May 'accidently' purchased a sequinned dress that turned out to be absolutely amazing, all for just 50p. In our hysteria, when trying to calculate that in Australian dollars, we went the wrong way so for a moment we thought the dress was only 20 cents, which had us in absolute fits of laughter. In the end I had to model the dress and I waiting to hear how much she actually ended up selling it for!

I also spoke to my brother Stewart for the first time in a bajillion years. I found a number in the phone book and gave it a bash! Turns out he is a carpenter is almost 38. Christine, my older sister is 44 and in Exeter and my brother Antony is in Plymouth. So, we have organised to catch up at the end of May when I am back in England, so wish me luck!

On Wednesday, I chilled out at home, getting all those domestic things like washing done before I flew out to the states. I also indulged in a bath, and hopefully didn't freak out the workmen that were taking down the scaffolding around the house because I was singing away to Missy Higgins on my ipod! All in all, quite a good day...

I also got to meet Hannah that night, who is my new-ish cousin. Hannah is the first child of my Uncle Stuart, my Mum's brother and she is only just over 1. I also met Julie, her mum, which was great. It is crazy how much like Stuart that Hannah looks. It was great to catch up with them and I will probably end up going to stay with them at some point. Stuart is so cheeky, I don't think he is ever going to grow up, and was still nursing a hangover from going to see Pete, my cousin, in London over the weekend!

It was also really interesting to talk to him because he had some interesting stories to tell about my Dad, who clearly, is not necessarily my favourite person., despite the fact he is sick.

After they left, we trotted upstairs to see my Great-uncle Peter who is Nanny May's brother. Now while they live in the same building, they have completely separate apartments and don't really see each other all that often from what I can gather. So after giving me the guilt trip about not coming upstairs to see him earlier, we had a cup of tea (yay) and chatted about bits and pieces, family stuff. I am hopefully going to catch up with Steven, my second cousin, who lives in London (and who I have since heard from - go email!) and was amazed to see how alike Simon and my Mum look - yes, Mum, it is so weird but you guys look so alike.

My last night on the couch saw me starting to worry about my trip to New York but then eventually it was Thursday morning and I was too busy travelling to worry about it! Catching the bus to Victoria Station and then another to Heathrow, I was soon checking in (bags all good!) and into the departure lounge. Spying some Miso soup was the highlight of that (and the highlight for some American woman who heard me order and almost had kittens when she realised that it was available!) although I am most impressed at how my ability to complete suduko puzzles is coming along.

Once on the plane, it was smooth sailing (!) although I really couldn't relax and sleep. I ended up watching Juno, Harry Potter (again) and an episode of Flight of the Conchords (who are in NY too!). Even that didn't fill in all the time and eventually I ended up just watching out the window, watching the snow and ice gradually become fields and houses, until at last Long Island came into view. After what was some interminable about of time and flying zig zag across and around, over land and then back over the ocean and then turning again, we landed at JFK. I swear, anyone looking up in the sky and watching our plane would have thought that the pilot was drunk or at the very least, up to no good!

Emerging from the plane it was off to customs which, I forgot, would take forever. So, after an almost 8 hour flight, and looking extremely haggard, with no make up, I was standing in a line waiting to go through US customs and worrying if they would accept my dual citizenship and let me enter on my UK passport. All at what my body thought was something like 1 in the morning. Great. And all the while, wondering if anyone would be waiting for me - after all I was late...

Eventually, I made it through, fingerprints and photos taken and visa stapled into passport. Baggage claim was a breeze since the customs process had taken so long and I was soon wandering through the arrivals gate, looking rather a lot like an exhausted pack mule.

I was in New York, and on the way to the city!

Oh, and be the way, someone was there to meet me... 😉

Musings/Advice:








Advertisement



23rd April 2008

yay
i noticed you didnt display a photo of you in the afore mentioned nanny may inspired sequined frock... hmn??? NY is very happy to have you here. in fact... we mightn't let you re-board the plane. nope. nope. nope. There are too many sticks to chew. x

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0602s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb