Canterbury and Dover


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Kent » Canterbury
November 3rd 2008
Published: November 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Time is going faster and faster everyday. I feel like I haven't seen my family or friends in ages, yet I also feel like I haven't been here very long.

This day that I was in Kent was sometime last week. Most of what was done was sightseeing so not much of an entry here as this is illustrated in the many photos that I have uploaded, which you better appreciate because it took me forever. The main attractions of this day was the Canterbury Cathedral, the place of pilgrimage because that is where Thomas Beckett was murdered and became a martyr. Because I was in Canterbury tales, I felt like I already knew about this place. I kept quoting 'to Canterbury' and other quips from the play, completely forgetting that the people around me had no idea what I was talking about. In the little town we ate lunch at some cafe that was apparently the first coffee house in southern England. As coffee wasn't introduced until the 18th century by the Turks. We also stopped at 'The Sugar Boy' which is the little shop that supplied the film 'Charlie and the Chocolate Factory' with all of it's candy. They have the official order displayed proudly in the window. I got a piece of Marzipan only because I had never had any before, and really didn't know what it was. Maybe I was only drawn to it because it was shaped to look like cute little fruits. It has the same consistency as cookie dough, but not as sweet, I don't know, it's difficult to describe.

We jumped on a coach and rode for another half an hour or so and hit Dover. The southern most city in England. It was beautiful because even though it wasn't the clearest day, you could still see France. What we know as Calais. Our main attraction here was Dover Castle which is so old it was considered outdated in Henry VIII's time. We really didn't go anywhere else. They were having some Halloween special because all the kids there were running around in their costumes, it was cute. On the way back home we drove past the white cliffs, because, believe it or not, it is very hard to get to. I did however, manage to fall down one of the hills at the castle, as they were very slippery with
The Sugar BoyThe Sugar BoyThe Sugar Boy

The Candy shop that supplied all the candy for Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
mud, getting the front of one of my entire trouser legs covered in mud. Help Mama! How do I get this out?!

observation: If you accidentally make eye contact with people on the streets, don't smile, they will think you are weird.


Additional photos below
Photos: 41, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

PilgramagePilgramage
Pilgramage

Spot where Thomas a Becket became a martyr
shifty Subwayshifty Subway
shifty Subway

here, Subways are underpasses.
Dover CastleDover Castle
Dover Castle

considered 'old fashioned' by the 16th century.


11th November 2008

Soak first, if you can. Pretreat and wash as soon as you can. Love, mama
30th November 2008

China
Great set of blogs. I hope my students read you blog and look at your pictures. You have done a great job.

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 18; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0384s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb