London Day 5


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Isle of Wight
June 14th 2009
Published: June 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

WestminsterWestminsterWestminster

Me taking a picture of myself across the river from Westminster. You can see the necklace I bought at Portobello Road Market.
Hi Everyone!
Today is my last day in London. I am taking it easy, in preparation for leaving for Paris tomorrow! I woke up around 9am, ate left over pasta, washed my laundry in the bathroom sink, and walked to the library about 10 blocks from my hostel. I was going to use the day to play on the internet and research more of my trip, but the wi-fi there is only for library members.
So I decided I would go see one more museum! The Victoria and Albert museum. Named for its founders Queen Victoria and Prince Albert, who from all reports were great people very devoted to their roles as public servants and British culture. In any case they founded a great museum, which like all the London museums is FREE! This is very obliging since I was down to 2 pounds in my London budget. So they are both okay in my book.
The V & A specializes in decorative arts. There is a wing with sculpture, a wing with fashion highlights (my favorite because I like the funny looking clothes) and a room devoted to each of the major world cultures. I saw Indian rugs and samurai
V & A V & A V & A

Outside of the Victoria and Albert Museum.
suits. Plastic dresses and wooden tables.
After the V & A I walked down to Harrods the famous department store. They have a floor devoted to food. Each room specialized in a different kind of food: seafood, meat, fruits and vegetables, etc. My personal favorite is the chocolate and pastry room. Harrods is notorious for astronomical prices (I did see a coat for 365 pounds which caused me to run in the opposite direction, even though it was a cute coat.) But mostly the prices are reasonable. I bought a european phrase book for 5 pounds. (I don't consider this part of the London budget as it is for my future trip.)
So my London trip lasting 6 days and 6 nights cost a total of 329 dollars.
~Tomorrow is Paris!~



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

modern dressmodern dress
modern dress

The embroidery on this dress is knitted with steel wool to make it stand out from the fabric.
Hip DressHip Dress
Hip Dress

I cannot even imagine wearing this. These people must have been crazy. Or maybe its one of those fashion devices meant to constrain women; like the corset. "How dare you walk through a door! I'll fix that."
Swirly tableSwirly table
Swirly table

Modern design for a coffee table.
V & A courtyardV & A courtyard
V & A courtyard

Courtyard at the museum has a wading pool. Only the sign said 'paddling.' I assume that is british for wading. The water is 8 inches deep. I put my feet in for a while and read my book.


14th June 2009

Europe holiday
Hope you enjoy your holiday. I was in London late Feb and late March 2009. Fell in love with the city. I have created a site on our europe hoilday from Feb 2009 to Mar 2009. Have a read may give you some other attractions/ideas you may wanna see:- http://www.europein3weeks.com
15th June 2009

Amazing!
I'm loving your updates. It's like traveling without moving. Keep it up girl. And be safe! I can't wait to see Paris!

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 34; dbt: 0.0431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb