I need more time!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Hertfordshire » Rickmansworth
October 23rd 2007
Published: October 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

So last time you heard from me I was off to quit my job in media… this went far better than expected, I was still shaking like a sh*tting dog when it came to the face to face “I’m going travelling for at least 8 months and I don’t know when I’m coming back, and I want to leave and er… I’m sorry, I know it’s a long time and I can’t take it off, it’s a terrible time career wise, leaves you in the lurch…” generally descending into completely incoherent mumbling apologies -it was pathetic. Despite this apparent lack of spine, the head of my department set about obtaining me a sabbatical. I’d be guaranteed a job when I come back which would have been fantastic, problem was -I’m not entirely certain when I’ll be coming back. The bookies odds that I’ll be back on the 2 June 2008 as planned currently stand at 1bn:1, so having been presented with this very generous offer, I was again reduced to my former invertebrate self while “graciously declining”.- yeah, RIGHT.

So the all company email went out explaining why I was leaving and the torrent of good natured abuse (stretching the concept like Vanessa Feltz’ last G-string and if you work in media you’ll know what I mean). That was sadly four weeks ago now and I rested on my laurels and have been enjoying my last few weeks with everyone at work and even managing to save a little money. Then a couple or so weeks ago I was told I'd be getting quite alot of extra money in "holiday pay" for holiday I haven't taken. So the saving money went out of the window a little and the dinking came swooping back in , especially with the rugby world cup.

Now, I'm runnig around trying to get banking details sorted, cancel phone contracts, pick up essentials including my malaria tablets -Rickmansworth Gage surgery, make no mistake it has been a thoroughly awful experience going through the travel clinic. I've never been messed around or been the subject of such unbelievable incompetence and "clerical errors", advice to anyone going away go anywhere, ANYWHERE ELSE!


I picked up a bag - i decided to go for none of th eones I originally looked at and found one that is better than elliots - well, it's just as good and looks better! The Osprey Waypoint, I won't bore you with all the specifications but its 80l all told, a small daypack but the most comfortable strap system. I'll include it in with the picture of all my kit spead out - also to follow!

TTFN, I'll update with photos on saturday while I'm packing!

x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0302s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb