Uuhhhhhhhhhhr How Long is this going to TAKE!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Hertfordshire » Rickmansworth
September 17th 2007
Published: September 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Just the two of us...



There's me, Marc, I'm the one in the photos with no hair and then there's Elliott -he's the one with loads of hair which will probably get longer and longer as we make our way through our trip. Which, for those of you we haven't bored to tears with it yet, is:

London to Bangkok leaving on 28/10/07 arriving on 29/10/07
Spending 2 months making our way through Thailand's Sukhothai, Chang Mai, then Cho Chang and the coast road through to Kopanang, Phuket and then Malaysia, Kuala lumpar and Singapore.
Singapore to Cairns leaving on 23/12/07 arriving on 24/12/07
Staying in Cains for Christmas and New Year, then taking our lazy ass time with three months to drive down the East Coast. Destinations TBC.
Melbourne to Christchurch on 20/03/08 arriving on 20/03/08
Making our way down to Queenstown and the Fijordlands. Then up to Auckland and the North Island with a week in Fiji and back to Auckland for the flight to the next continent.
Auckland to Santiago on 30/04/08 arriving on 30/04/08
Arriving four and a half hours after we've left New Zealand, we'll spend the next month making our way up to Peru and then a trip to see the sun break the clouds over the Andes from Machu picchu.
Lima to Miami for a three hour stop over, then home to london Heathrow for the begining of July
(thanks Nicki at STA who promised us a few days in the sunshine state... nah just jossing with you luv)

Right now we've been going through the preparations and going for our almost weekly doses of potentially leathal injections -which has been so much fun. For those of you who have never begun a course of Rabies, Hep A, Hep B, Yellow Fever, Typhoid and Japanese Encephalitis... its like someone giving you two dead arms every week for a month, which then make you ache and feverish, unable to drink and then charging you £350 for this service -If I see a rabid dog, I'm going to chase it hold down and make it bite me just so i don't feel so ripped off! Having said that, its peace of mind for my mum which of course is priceless (que marstercard ad).

The next big thing on the list of to-do's is going to be my backpack. El's already sorted his out in a typically Elliott stone sort of way, setting a prescedent for the trip I'm sure -I've spent the last few weeks in and out of Nomad, Cotswold Outdoor and numerous other backpacking shops while spending lunchbreaks and evenings looking online- only to discover that the bag Elliott bought on an impulse in london because he wanted to buy one that day... was in fact the best. I know, its shit init?

He picked up the 70l MacPac Orient Express for £120, its the most resilient and reckomended as well as having a lifetime guarantee so if it breaks while we're away he can have it repaired for free. The other options are the Berghaus Jalan 70+15l for about £100 which is a great pack, not as resilient as Elliott's but still pretty tough. Thing is it comes with wheels which could be convenient but there are two problems they add about 2kg and I'll look like a proper dick. Then there's the Karrimor 70-90l at about £160 but Karrimor went into recievership and now are just leasing their brand to anyone, the same people own Lonsdale - my point exactly. Bollox to it anyway, might just flip a coin.


Six weeks to go yesterday


Well that's enough for now, I've been saving for what feels like forever and all I've got to show for it still is a bit of paper telling me I'm going (£1430), another saying whatever happens I'm insured (another £350) and two aching arms (told you before)... BUT I AM GOING!!!!

I'm off to quit my job... gulp.







Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0487s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb