Wye Valley


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Herefordshire » Hereford
June 4th 2008
Published: June 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

4 June 2008

Hi Folks !

Combined cycle and walking day.

Blue skies ! Away from camp site by 7am (gates are locked until that time - just in case any of you feel that I am slacking by setting off at such a late hour !!!!). With the bike in the back of the car I made off for an area a few miles from the camp and generally to the south of Hereford. I parked as intended in a rough parking area near a footpath and set off to walk to the confluence of the Lugg and Frome and then the Lugg and Wye. I will not bore you with the detail … well since you insist …. perhaps not although anyone who studied geography to an advanced level will know that these rivers were diverted from their pre-glacial courses and once the ice retreated found their old routes blocked so from that perspective it is an interesting area. Perhaps not to the civilian. Anyways in case you attention is waning already this rambling around the flood plains did bring me to the delightful Hampton Meadows. Really I think this is a must - quite idyllic and quintessentially English. Old hay meadows that have not been ploughed or drained or worked in any obvious way for thousands of years. So you have pure English meadows - absolutely delightful with subtle variations of green mix with buttercups disturbed only by ambling cows and an abundance of birds and insects.

I stayed too long so my itinerary was already moving towards the metaphorical shredder as I dragged the bike from the car and set off at a furious pace. I ventured upon St Andrew’s Church, Hampton Bishop - and that was not even on the itinerary. Not exceptional compared to some of the churches I have seen recently but interesting nonetheless especially for its tower being topped by a black and white timber framed belfry. Now you do not see many of those. Also references to the Whittington family (as in Dick) who apparently lived in the area.

Now even further behind schedule I hurtled up and down country lanes (hurtled would be the wrong description for the up bit - but you get my drift…) until I arrived at Dinedor Camp. Not another camp site but a hillfort dating from the first century bc. Not much to see unless you are interested in h-f (I am - sad, really .. but there we are !). Ramparts intact and some exceptional views across the surrounding countryside and into the city of Hereford.

Arrived at Little Dewchurch hoping to visit the church which is of interest. We all know my opinion of closed churches - they should be open. You will not convert people if the places are shut. Keep out they say !!!! Arrived at Hoarwithy where there is another church of interest and … it was open. This is Victorian in age but not style as those of you familiar with the Victorian approach to ecclesiastical architecture will know that they are invariably in the style known as Gothic Revival. Hopefully the Goths are impressed. This exceptional church is Italianate in style although it definitely reminded me of the cathedral of Le Puy in south central France. Inside there are marble columns, tiled mosaics, marble altars and hanging lamps creating an impression rarely seen in England. Worth a visit.

Pedalling even more furiously I swept up to the church at Ballingham - closed !!!!!! Beginning to now slow down I returned to the car which was sitting waiting for me.

Steve




Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0385s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb