And so the journey begins.......(and would you like some shits!)


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Hampshire » Portsmouth
March 5th 2013
Published: March 5th 2013
Edit Blog Post

RTW Trip 1 Mar 13RTW Trip 1 Mar 13RTW Trip 1 Mar 13

Leaving Southsea
And finally the day had arrived when I would set off on my journey around the world. The two weeks leading up to my departure date had been hectic but fun.

My close friends and family had done me proud, organising farewell events, baking me a wonderful cake and being overly generous and caring all round. I also very much enjoyed a school reunion, where I met classmates from 27 years ago. Amazing!

My preparations as far as I could tell, were as good as they were going to be. The exception to this was my GPS where I spent a full two days trying to work out how to put routes from my computer into the GPS to allow me to navigate safely on the bike without the need for tons and tons of paper charts. Frustrating to say the least, but in the end I manged to wing it......... as we used to say in the Royal Navy.

On the day I left, my lodger Rachel cooked me one of her stonking English Breakfasts which went down a treat. My South African Friend Keegan, whom I've been assisting with his aviation ground studies came by to
RTW Trip 1 Mar 13RTW Trip 1 Mar 13RTW Trip 1 Mar 13

All the zeros on my speedometer!
say his farewells and my lovely neighbour and ex-matelot Bill brought round a bottle of bubbly to which we toasted my safety and good luck on the trip.

Leaving Southsea behind I quickly pedalled down to Old Portsmouth with another close friend of mine Mark and then had some pictures taken by my artistically and talented friend Sam, who as a graphic designer has an amazing ability to turn a non-photogenic subject into a great photo using lots of photo shop magic to get rid of unsightly blemishes!

Leaving Portsmouth behind, it felt like any other day, with grey overcast skies and drizzle all the way to Bognor. It was really wonderful spending this first day with my Father and our usual Costa Coffee in Bognor and a meal at the Lion Pub in Pagham during the evening was a fitting way to say goodbye.

Saturday, following an emotional and tearful farewell, I waved goodbye to my Father and steadily made my way to Alfriston which is a pretty village situated to the east of Brighton. In Brighton I had the obligatory stop to have my photo taken at the pier and to do some people watching
RTW Trip 2 Mar 13RTW Trip 2 Mar 13RTW Trip 2 Mar 13

Leaving photograph with my Father
as well as take in the grandeur of the famous Roedean Girls' school.

At the Youth Hostel in Alfriston, I met some interesting professional couples with their children who had travelled down from the south-west of London to enjoy walks in the local countryside. One of the chaps Alistair, whom it turned out worked for the Foreign and Commonwealth Office reminded me about updating my whereabouts with the FCO each time I moved from country to country. The couples also invited me to have some of their tasty cakes and peppermint tea which I devoured in seconds. This cycling melarky really does make you feel hungry!

I also met Goya, a lovely Sri Lankan Lady from the Croydon area whom it was lovely to converse about my recent travels to India.

The following day, I set off for Hastings taking on the Severn Sisters hills en route. The terrain had certainly become hillier from the previous day but this would be my starting preparation for the mountains to come in the future.

With a cold easterly wind blowing, you have to go through the pain barrier each day, when the blood eventually starts to circulate around
RTW Trip 2 Mar 13RTW Trip 2 Mar 13RTW Trip 2 Mar 13

Brighton Pier - One for my lodger Rachel to remind her of my favourite trance tunes.
your hands and you can start feeling your fingertips again.

With internet connection down the previous evening, I cycled into Hastings completely unaware of the location of my friends house with whom I was going to spend the evening. On calling him and telling him that I was adjacent to Hastings Castle on the Seafront, he cooly quipped " you'll know when you get to mine as you just keep following the ridge all the way to the top of the hill!

6 miles later up a bloody steep slope I finally reached the house of Graeme Gibbon-Brooks who welcomed me into his home. Graeme is a former friend of mine from my Navy Days and it was great to meet up with him and Kirsten and his two young children after such a long absence.

Following a quick pint down his local, Graeme cooked me up a most wonderful Sunday roast with all the trimmings. Just what the doctor had ordered. Reminiscing over old times over a Gin and Tonic, it really doesn't matter how long you have been apart as friends, as you can simply continue where you left off.

The next day I
RTW Trip 2 Mar 2013RTW Trip 2 Mar 2013RTW Trip 2 Mar 2013

Obligatory Brighton pier shot
awoke to frost on the cars outside Graeme's house. Following some good advice from my bootneck friend Paul Gallender, I braved the elements in just my normal two layers and fingerless gloves to commence the cycle ride to Capel le Ferne situated just to the east of Folkstone. Going through the pain barrier again, it was absolutely delightful following the cycle lanes through the East Sussex countryside observing the Eastbourne half marathon en route, passing through the picturesque town of Rye and imagining the historic importance of the Royal Military canal near Folkstone.

Eventually I made it to Little Switzerland, a campsite on the outskirts of Folkstone where I pitched my tent and made full use of my primus stove for the very first time. After dinner, a quick scale of the cliffs led me up to a pub where I topped up my iron levels with a couple of pints of Guinness.

Today, after an early start it was beautiful witnessing the sunrise whilst looking out to sea with the cliffs of Dover in the background.

A quick 9 miles led me to the port of Dover where I caught the ferry to Calais. I'm pleased
RTW Trip 2 Mar 13RTW Trip 2 Mar 13RTW Trip 2 Mar 13

Roedean Girls' school
to say that my GPS is working correctly, although I have already been led up a couple of dead ends in the middle of the countryside where a non-existent tunnel under a motorway or a locked gate have forced me on detours. The riding in France seems so much more relaxed, with wider roads, more cycle routes and drivers who actually stop at zebra crossings. Whatever next!

I have thus far made it to Dunkerque, where I have checked into a Youth Hostel. The receptionist asked me whether I would like some shits. I said that I hadn't got the shits but I would like some sheets for my bed instead!


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 26


Advertisement

RTW Trip 2 Mar 13RTW Trip 2 Mar 13
RTW Trip 2 Mar 13

East Sussex Countryside
RTW Trip 2 Mar 13RTW Trip 2 Mar 13
RTW Trip 2 Mar 13

East Sussex Countryside
RTW Trip 2 Mar 13RTW Trip 2 Mar 13
RTW Trip 2 Mar 13

Alfriston village
RTW Trip 3 Mar 13RTW Trip 3 Mar 13
RTW Trip 3 Mar 13

Outside Alfriston Youth Hostel
RTW Trip 3 Mar 13RTW Trip 3 Mar 13
RTW Trip 3 Mar 13

Watch the toads!
RTW Trip 3 Mar 13RTW Trip 3 Mar 13
RTW Trip 3 Mar 13

Following the Sustran routes
RTW Trip 3 Mar 13RTW Trip 3 Mar 13
RTW Trip 3 Mar 13

En route to Hastings
RTW Trip 3 Mar 13RTW Trip 3 Mar 13
RTW Trip 3 Mar 13

Surprised that we can get away with this nowadays!
RTW Trip 4 Mar 13RTW Trip 4 Mar 13
RTW Trip 4 Mar 13

Empty sandy beaches en route to Folkstone
RTW Trip 4 Mar 13RTW Trip 4 Mar 13
RTW Trip 4 Mar 13

The Royal Military canal
RTW Trip 4 Mar 13RTW Trip 4 Mar 13
RTW Trip 4 Mar 13

Sandgate Castle - something the US would be proud of.....history
RTW Trip 4 Mar 13RTW Trip 4 Mar 13
RTW Trip 4 Mar 13

First night's camping at Capel le Ferne
RTW Trip 4 Mar 13RTW Trip 4 Mar 13
RTW Trip 4 Mar 13

Primus stove in full operation
RTW Trip 5 Mar 13RTW Trip 5 Mar 13
RTW Trip 5 Mar 13

Just gone sunrise looking towards Dover
RTW Trip 5 Mar 13RTW Trip 5 Mar 13
RTW Trip 5 Mar 13

Beautiful cliffs of Dover


5th March 2013

Good Luck
Just bumped into your blog by accident, hope you have a great trip, Good Luck!
6th March 2013

Wowh, time goes so quick!
Dear Clive,\Wish you such a happy bike ride ;-)) If you ever need some help or information.....don't hesitate..... Lots of love and great experiences, Aranka
8th March 2013

Day of Leaving
Hi Clive, It was a very emotional day for me. However I wish you the very best of luck on your trip. I know it was always what you wanted so go for it. Love Dad
9th March 2013

Switzerland
Hi Clive, just wondering whether we are on your list of countries. Just in case you need a comfy bed and a warm meal for a night. Steep hills though. Good luck Keith
9th March 2013

Dumb Woman's Lane
Is this where you came to a dead end?lol
24th May 2013
RTW Trip 1 Mar 13

Hi
Hello My name is Juliet. i just saw your profile here and i want to make friendship with you to discus a lot of things with you, what is your opinion about this? please reply me on (juliet_002007/ @ /ya / hoo . / c o m) and i will tell you details about me with my photo. thanks from Juliet.

Tot: 0.182s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 15; qc: 75; dbt: 0.0681s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb