Portsmouth - HMS VICTORY


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Hampshire » Portsmouth
August 31st 2012
Published: September 29th 2012
Edit Blog Post

August 31 Friday National Museum of the Royal Navy

Today I visited the National Museum of the Royal Navy. It was a beautiful day and nice and cool for walking. It is actually on a Royal Navy base and there are several museums and it was so big that they said I could come back on Saturday again and use the same ticket as I probably could not see it all, which turned out to correct. It was really a great collection of museums and seeing how those ships were put together as well as loaded with such attention to the smallest detail left me with a great respect for the English navy.

There are several museums as well as a harbor tour for my £20 (senior rate) ticket. I am going back today but still doubt that I will see everything. It is a massive place.

Portsmouth has been a great place to holiday and I have booked 2 more days here till Monday. I have been here 3 days and still haven’t seen everything.

I kept looking at going to France from here and finally decided that going there was going to take more planning,
HMS VICTORYHMS VICTORYHMS VICTORY

Lord Nelson's flagship in the Battle of Trafalgar
what with the language barrier and all. And I couldn’t find any hostels near Omaha beach, so I will probably end up having to rent a car to tour the battle areas so that complicates things a bit as well. So I will save France for a trip of its own.

I will probably stay in Portsmouth till Monday and then start meandering my way to Coventry. My cousin Christy should be there when I arrive.

After visiting the museum I took the bus back to the D Day museum which was closer to the hostel, and then took a walk along the beach stopping every now and then to enjoy the view.

There are several landscaped gardens along the Portsmouth waterfront. Perfect for walking and sitting on the benches to enjoy the peace and quiet and beauty.


Additional photos below
Photos: 41, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.415s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 74; dbt: 0.1576s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb