Introduction.


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Hampshire » Hythe
January 12th 2012
Published: February 7th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone!
Welcome to my little blog. I hope I'm able to add a new entry every week so I can keep you updated, and with any luck I'll be able to post a few photos too. I wanted my first entry to be from home, that way I can look back at it myself if I'm feeling homesick and you guys can see what I get up to back at home in Southampton (it's not very exciting, don't get your hopes up!). This blog is accessed by my family, friends and members of the public following my travels, so bear with me if I'm boring you with the preliminaries!





The Basics.

Name: Streets.
Age: 25.
Hometown: Southampton, UK.
Status: In a relationship.
Educational background: MA Media & Communication (Goldsmiths College, London 2010) BA English Literature & Philosophy (University of Southampton 2008).
Occupational background: 10 years in the retail industry in various roles including supervisory positions.

Life at Home.

My life at home is fairly standard I suppose. I live with my parents and brother (and our 5 dogs) just outside Southampton. I currently work in a ladies fashion store in the centre of town, which I actually quite enjoy despite it falling somewhat short of being my dream career. Most evenings I see my boyfriend Sam; we eat pizza, watch movies and occasionally interact with other humans to drink excessively or play laser quest. Recently all three of my closest friends, namely Gareth, Amie and Sara have moved away from Southampton to Cardiff, Sri Lanka and Australia respectively, which saddens me but means I get to travel all over the world to visit them!

My Travels.

Itinerary.

Sri Lanka. 11th March - 1st April. Staying with my friend Amie at the Millennium Elephant Foundation... Please visit www.millenniumelephantfoundation.com for more information.

Singapore. 1st April - 5th April.

Australia. 5th April - 6th May. Starting with a tour from Cairns to Sydney, then two weeks in Sydney visiting Sara.

New Zealand. 6th May - 17th May. I've just found out I have a friend in New Zealand at the moment so with any luck I might be able to meet up with her.

Hawaii. 16th May - 23rd May. (Yes, I'm crossing the date line so I get an extra day in Hawaii... no complaints here!)

Seattle/Vancouver. 23rd May - 17th June. I'll be in Seattle for two weeks before my camping tour around British Colombia begins, and immediately following the camping trip I'll be flying down to San Francisco.

California/Across Country Tour. 17th June - 16th July. One week in San Fran before my cross-country camping tour starts. It concludes in New York on 16th July.

Montreal. I'll be in Montreal from 18th June - 25th June. I've wanted to see Montreal for quite a while so I'm glad I managed to squeeze it in at the end of my trip.

New York. 25th June - 6th August.... NEW YORK YAAAAY! I've been to New York once before in 2008, and I'm excited to finish my trip here. My mum is flying out to see me on the 31st July... and my 26th birthday is the 1st August so it works out perfectly!

All together my trip will last 5 months, from March - August 2012... I can't wait!

(As a side note, I've just found out that Sam and I have been invited to a wedding in Wisconsin on 20th October, so looks like I'll be back in the US for a second time this year... how exciting!)

I might post again before I leave, but if not my next post will be from Sri Lanka! Eeep!

Bye!

- Streets.
xxx



Advertisement



Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0609s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb