Lavender, anyone?


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Hampshire » Eastleigh
June 8th 2012
Published: June 8th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Our intrepid driverOur intrepid driverOur intrepid driver

Let's just say I don't think I could live and drive in the U.K.Some streets are so narrow, there is a holding area for the oncoming traffic. People parallel park on hills in tiny spaces-not for the faint of heart!
The rain stopped today- at least the downpouring did. There was the occasional sprinklw, wherein the clouds did their just diligence to remind us mortals that they still had the power to drench, soak and wet to the bone!!!! Our adventuring took us into the New Forest, which as Gunther remarked, may have been new several hundreds of years ago. Today, it seems to me more like a large forest preserve where the land is maintained in a more natural state and livestock and horses left to wander....as we drove along, there were multiple congregations of said beasts- some just cows, some just horses, others groups which included both....all right along the road-or, in one or two cases, slowly meandering across the road!!! Their were foals in evidence a-plenty. No photographic evidence though- sorry!

Our first stop was a lavender garden. Sala-Joy, my niece, for those who did not know, is visually impaired. She enjoys being able to finger and touch things and smell whatever she can discern smell from. She had a ball sniffing a variety of lavender plants as well as identifying herbs like Rosemary and Thyme. (Didn't see any sage and don't think parsely has a smell-for
The lavender in bloomThe lavender in bloomThe lavender in bloom

I had no idea that this many varieties of lavender existed!
the Beatles fans among us...this is England, after all!)

Our last stop were the ruins of a Roman villa at Rockbourne. This archeological site dates back a few thousand years in the artifacts that were excavated but the most "recent" excavation on show was of a Roman villa, apparently around AD53 or so. We were amazed at the underfloor heating and multitude of bathing areas that were present- of course, reminded of the fact that it took many slaves to keep said house and amenities operational....

For supper, I indulged in fish and chips. For those who have never eaten chips- they are potato wedges that are doused in vinegar and salt and as a result aren't crisp but warm, a little soggy and delicious. I know that neither description nor probably the photo will do it justice but trust me when I say it was oh so good!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Dad and daughterDad and daughter
Dad and daughter

It is heart-warming to see my brother as a father. He is gentle, kind and patient with his wee girl. I am so proud of the man he has become!
Roman ruinsRoman ruins
Roman ruins

An excavation showing the underfloor heating in the villa.
More ruinsMore ruins
More ruins

Amazingly, not reuined, are the many mosaics that are still intact or mostly intact...


8th June 2012

Lavender Anyone?
Thanks for sharing your travels with me! And, as you know, lavender is one of my favorites. The place we stayed in California last year had a lavender garden in the back and that was the first time I discovered the many varieties that exist :) Ooh - and the vis en skyfies look lekker!! Happy Travels my friend!
9th June 2012
Mum and tot!

Here's looking at you girls
9th June 2012
Dad and daughter

Dad and daughter
As you say a wonderful dad and like you, very proud of him in fact all of you!!
10th June 2012

y'all make me want to cry
oh my stars!!! I feel like I'm part of a novel that continues to unfold, only now with graphics(pix). What a blessing to eves drop on the Storbeck/Ward family. Thank you for sharing, so fun to read comments by family and friends, it does make me feel part of another families story. I get to live vicariously thru a family in England, South Africa, Zimbabwe (Bridget) and the USA. All places I'll only ever read about:). Thanks for sharing!
10th June 2012

Robo Cod!!!
Aaah, fish 'n chips. But of course. And do you remember eating pork (sorry K-H) pies in the New Forest? The girls and I read the book 'Children of the New Forest' after we'd seen it in '92/'93. The English was old and hectic, but the story was gripping and I could just picture it all in my head, having seen the forest a few years before. Bet mommy would just have loved to be there for all the Lavender smelling with Sala-Joy. She's rather partial to them. Please send love to my three fav UK Strawberries. CANNOT WAIT to see you all in Dec.!!!!! Whoop!!

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb