before i go !!!!!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater Manchester » Rochdale
November 8th 2008
Published: November 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So here it is !!!!!! after years of travelling I have decided to actually keep a blog and keep people updated on what im going to be doing. In the past, I have just kept my trip to myself and just e mailed people along the way once or twice.

well Im currently at home in england after being in america for the past 5 months working on a summer camp in boston where I have spent the last 4 summers.

I will be going to china from bangkok which is a good 1500 miles if not more dependent on my route. I know I will be going through Laos and vietnam on the way up there and returning dwon through vietnam and hopefully seeing cambodia too. I know this is a route that is not very straight forward but i dont really care. I find il just go where I want when I want to so I dont really care if people think its stupid or not there not doing it so why should it bother them!

So although my trip doesnt start for another 12 days ive had to get some things sorted.

FIRST!!!!! was the chinese visa, now..... when I went to research how to get this, I went online to find out the best way to do this. I found various sites that claim they would do all the "lining up" for you and all the bits people dont like to do. they charged an average fee of 80 pounds !!!!!
However I called my trusty freinds at STA and asked if they did a visa service for china. the guy replied that they do but as I lived in Manchester I may aswell do it my self at the consulate !!!!! So I jumped online again to find out what is needed and how it should be done. I filled in the forms online and printed them off and took it to the consulate at around 9 am on thursday , I walked straight in there and handed in my documents and they said come back on tuesday . (so far no queuing) Along comes tuesday I ask my gran to pick it up as im working, so my 70 yearold gran goes into manchester and picks it up and pays the fee and thats it.

So if you dont fancy going to spemd 5 minutes in a building and paying 30 pounds , by all means go online and pay 80 and wait up to 10 days for it your choice 😊

So Im guessing my nexy entry will be somewhere a little more exciting than manchester

Maybe the airport Lol .......

Advertisement



22nd November 2008

I love the bit about your gran picking up your visa! Maybe she can start her own "lining up" service! Becca's mum

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0506s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb