Manchester to PORT Sunlight!


Advertisement
Published: May 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today started just grand. Woke up around 10am and had a long ass shower. Nice showers but only thing was that my roomie the African lad from Nigeria also wanted a shower at the same time which gave me like no water pressure but i wasnt complaining. HA i guess i am now but its crazy cause it was only two of us and there were like 8 showers oh well. So i got up and had some tea and toast cause that was the only thing free in the whole place haha. I spent sometime on the net looking up Coronation st to try and visit and some emailing.
My plan today was to watch the match which was actually a Derby pronounced darby with the two nice ladies from the night before (Claire and Sarah). I called them up and they were having a sleep over and arranged to meet em at quarter to one in the afternoon. So this being elevenish i had some time to explore, so that i did. I went out down the street and it was my second day of beautiful weather couldnt believe my luck! Went around and found the tourism center and some grand old buildings. Stumbled upon this great outdoor mall and a wanker pissing on this old statue in the center of the city.
By this time it was getting late to meet the girls but i still wanted to enjoy my walk. Saw a great ferrous wheel and was actually realizing where i was so it was nice to start feeling grounded. Turns out i didnt have to rush at all cause the birds were late hahaha. Well we met up and went into town.
One bad decision i made was that i was wearing shorts and a hat. They didnt want to let me in any bar cause it was against code but we kept trying different places. We found this place called varsity which charged us a two pound cover but it was alright cause they let me in shorts and all. We were a bit early but in fact just in time to get a seat. Ordered all our drinks and some food which was like an appy platter. It was cool cause it had these chips that were like pork rhinds and duck in it. The crowd was very intense and security was everywhere including around the city too. They gave us plastic cups to drink from it was a bit hillarious. You should of heard that crowd roar when pretty boy Ronaldo scored a penalty kick. WOW it was great when they sent him off and Rooney to replace him he was right pissed . They ended up winning two nothing.
After the game the girls walked me back to my place and we all said our goodbyes.
I called up this guy Simon and decided to move on to Liverpool for my first coach surf experience. I walked to the station with this swiss guy who was hillarious he had just come from the actual match and was catching a plane from Manchester in like two hours. So he was quite rushed and i think my train was in half an hour so i didnt care it was only two mins to the station. Got to Picadilly sat on the train and tons of ppl had jerseys on. In fact i was sitting beside a group of hooligans from CHester which was pretty close to where i was going. Should of seen tProxy-Connection: keep-alive
Cache-Control: max-age=0

s 7 year old girl straight up tom boy footy Proxy-Connection: keep-alive
Cache-Control: max-age=0

oligan with her face painted and everything. Just classic. They gave me two beers and were just hassling this girl behind them the whole time. I had a blast, they were blowing this horn and being obnoxious. I am really surprised they didnt throw the lot of us off. It was then that i started to see the real country of england cows sheep and lots of hilly grass pastures. Very cool. So i got off at Chester with this family and by then this guy was convinced that i was coming with him to Rome to see the cup final to camp for three days. HAHAHA realistically this wasnt too far out of the realm but i only just started my journey. We said our goodbyes but i am still supposed to call him about this trip shit!!! I took the next train Port Sunlight and got off right smack dab in little town England. It was perfect i called Simon and he was fixing a fuse in his car. HA so i walked down the road and sure enough there was a fucking lawn bowling pitch right beside the station with three old fellows and a young guy. I kept walking down the road to find the famous LEVER soap factory which i found out later. I went over this picturesque bridge to find the Port Sunlight social club. Obviously not the most lively place in England. Simon picked me up in his small ass MG nice ass car and took me back to his flat. When we got there he showed me around and we got to talking about Victoria cause this was the only place in Canada he had ever been. NO SHIT! Then we went to trying to fix his car which wouldnt start on its own, it had to be run started.
To no avail we ventured on to a small little pub down these sweet ass roads in Wallasy to have some dinner. It was like past 9 now and this was not a time the english served dinner just drink! Luckily we found some food at this pub and i had my first dab at Fish and chips which was shiiiiiiiiiiit. HA im not joking it wasnt good but the drink was great. We ended up talking to this old gentleman about Real beer, whiskey, and posh spots in Birkenhead which is the shit part of Liverpool where this guy was from. Got home and pretty much went to sleep.
Oh and one thing i forgot to say was that i talked to my Parents for half an hour which was really pleasant. I was happy to tell them everything was alright and especially to personally wish my mom a great Mothers Day. I love you soooooo soooooo soooooo much mom. You know i've always been a momma's boy. HA


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.201s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 74; dbt: 0.1129s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb