Chillin in Manchester with mates,


Advertisement
Published: September 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

London to Manchester

Bus. 4.5 hours

Chester ZooChester ZooChester Zoo

Chester Zoo
Tues 27th June - The bus to London wasn’t the most comfortable as the heater was pumping out next to me. Brett and I hung out at the bus stop while I waited for my bus to Manchester. The bus was only 8 pounds and I when arrived 4 ½ hours later it was so nice to see a familiar face - Jo. Jo’s mum Janet and sister Lyndsey were there also. Back and Jo and Jon’s I had the yummiest chicken sandwich ever and the best shower and went to bed. It took me a while to sleep as I was still trying to take everything in. I was finally in Manchester catching up with friends I hadn’t seen in over 2 years. Everything is good.

28th June Wed - Jo cooked me a traditional English breakfast, I was already feeling so spoilt. Jo, Max and Lyndsey took me to the Trafford centre to show me the huge amount of shops and Jo again spoilt me by buying me an early Xmas and bday present, an England soccer jersey. Now that the Aussies are out of the cup I am to support England as I am in England with my English friends! (So I don’t think I had a choice in the matter hihihi). Nice relaxing and chilled out day.

30th June Fri - In the afternoon I met Ellys at her school to go and help out with her sports day. I was given the responsibility of looking after some of the kids but it was nice to be hanging out with Ellys again. Once there I had to help out with the sandpit, the teacher had the job of recording the jumps while I had to hold the tape every jump and also rake the sand after every jump, which was pretty tiring. I even did a jump to show the kids how to do it! He was a pretty shit teacher actually and didn’t really explain everything very well. I watched Ellys do the 600meter race at the end of the day and was so proud of her when she sped up at the end and overtook some people; giving her a big hug and kiss.

1st July Sat - Well England are now also out of the cup losing to Paraguay in penalties. Later I went out with Lynsdey and some of her
My first RhinoMy first RhinoMy first Rhino

Chester Zoo
friends into town to somewhere called Fab Café I think. We hung out for some date to show up for Lyndsey’s friend then took off when he arrived. We walked to 5th Ave where they made me sign a form before going in saying they were not liable if anything had happened to my feet. I was wearing thongs (dressy thongs which I must add; that were all I had) apparently I could cut my feet on glass (which of course wouldn’t happen if I was wearing high heels with an open toe!!!) So I signed my life away before Lyndsey treated me to a welcoming tequila and corona, Hello Manchester! I didn’t really know much of the music but I still really enjoyed it, but I ended up having to roll up my jeans as the floor was completely covered in a sea of alcohol. At around 3 we left to get some Chinese and we laughed till the cabs came.

2nd July Sun - After not much sleep I got up and got ready for a day out at the Chester Zoo with Jon’s Aunty Mo and Uncle Eric, and of course Jo, Jon, Max, Ellys and
This speaks for itselfThis speaks for itselfThis speaks for itself

The red dots are where Rhinos live now! Chester Zoo
Janet. At first I wasn’t going to go as I don’t really like Zoo’s and don’t really believe in them but I didn’t wanna miss out on spending time with everyone and it ended up being a really nice day. And it was also Max’s first visit to the Zoo. The best thing were the Rhino’s as I had never seen one before, and I got quite emotional about it, getting shivers down my spine. Mo and Eric even bought me a magnet, which I thought was really nice.

6th July Thurs - Today I got up early and headed into town to get some prices for flights to Africa and to have a look around. I met my friend Nicole at the bus station and it was like I hadn’t seen her in ages, but at the same time it was like we were only back in Oz a few days ago. It’s very strange. We went to the oldest pub in Manchester called the Old Wellington and grabbed a beer. We talked and drank for a few hours and then headed back to Jon and Jo’s grabbing some yummy Jam Rolly Polly and custard for desert. It’s
I love MeerkatsI love MeerkatsI love Meerkats

Chester Zoo
so good to see Nicole, and she seems to be doing really well, not that I ever thought she wouldn’t be.

7th July Fri - We slept in a little but eventually caught the bus back into town (first time I was on a UK double decker) and I again enquired about flights. We grabbed a bus to Old Trafford, telling the bus driver to tell us when to get off. We passed a stadium and I eventually asked the driver if we had passed it and he had no idea what I was talking about!!! We had gone to far so we got off and I was completely frustrated, I am in an English speaking country and I am still having trouble communicating!!! I kinda yelled at him before we got off too! We walked back to the stadium and asked in the shop about tours. She tells us the last one is at 4:30 and is all booked up. But she still tells us where to go and we rush there. The sign on the counter also said it was booked up and I almost didn’t ask but Nicole really wanted to see the stadium. So I asked and said that we were leaving today and were from Australia and really wanted to go in. “Couldn’t you squeeze 2 more people?” He still said he couldn’t but the museum was still open and if we went up in 10mins he would meet us up there and show us the stadium. We got our tickets and went up. We were just about to go in and one of the guys on the desk asked if we were on the tour. We said “we wish” and he ended up taking us into one of the boxes to see the stadium. It looked smaller then I thought but I was still impressed don’t get me wrong. It did feel like I was right in the pitch though. I wouldn’t like to watch the game from the box though as I would feel pretty cut off from the atmosphere, and the glass would mean my voice would come straight back to me! Apparently the tours are completely booked everyday. They last an hour and go every 10 - 15mins with 30 people on each. Can you imagine that happening at Panthers? They’d be lucky to get 30 in a year! So
Wanna cracker?Wanna cracker?Wanna cracker?

Chester Zoo
we head back to the museum thanking him and heard the other guy say to him “why didn’t you just let them on” Bugger!

So many trophies and we didn’t get much time when the 15mins till closing announcement came over. Later we think they stink bombed us to get us out as the whole museum completely reeked, so we left in hysterics and headed to the Trafford Pub for a beer. Then headed to town so Nic could get the bus back to London and me back to Jon and Jo’s. It was so great to see Nic again.

9th July Sun - Went to Eric and Mo’s for dinner which was gorgeous! For desert we had some sort of Rhubarb crumble in custard, which wasn’t really my cuppa tea. Mo asked me what I thought of it (as everyone had finished and I still had heaps left) and I replied “Its probably not going to be one of my favourites” and Jo broke into hysterics, I kinda felt bad but I wasn’t going to lie and I assumed they figured that anyways. Eric asked if I liked apple better and he said that he would do
Who's gorgeous?Who's gorgeous?Who's gorgeous?

Chester Zoo
apple for me next time, mmm. So we watched Italy beat France, the world cup for 2006 is now over.

12th July Wed - Ellys woke me up early to tell me that Jon’s Grandad had passed away. I didn’t know what to say or do so I stayed in bed whilst Ellys read some of my book to me. Jon stayed home from work and we all had a beer to remember Grandad. It was pretty emotional and I really felt for Jon and the family.

Ellys and I have been watching ‘That 70’s Show’ everyday and we have decided that the song at the beginning is our song.

14th July Fri - Woke up excited as I would be speaking to home today, as it was Aidan’s bday yesterday. I ended up not hearing from home (even on emails) so went out with Jo and Helen (Jo’s friend) for a late lunch. After Lunch in Altrincham I was a little pissed off. Jo told me to just call them but I didn’t wanna talk to everyone when I was angry. Besides they said they would call me and they should be taking advantage of the
European Black VultureEuropean Black VultureEuropean Black Vulture

just beautiful, and check out the egg. They say only 1300 pairs remain, hunted and poisoned by man.
fact they can call me for a change. I felt like I was forgotten about. Once back at Jo’s I checked my emails and there was one from Paul saying that he tried to call. I emailed him back to say how disappointed I was and I then had a little cry. I felt so bad not talking to Aidan for his bday and I also felt let down.

15th July Sat - Helen came round to get me and I headed out with her and her friends for a night on the town. I got really dressed up which was the first time in ages, I felt like a female again! All of us girls were single so it was bound to be an interesting night. Can’t remember what the place was called and it was a bit different to my usual nights out but still good, although stinking hot. We left and headed to Cocoa Rooms were we got into the VIP room. I did get some good dancing and a pash in. We stayed till they kicked us out and I had a fight with Helens mate about Italy and the World Cup as he was
Big YawnBig YawnBig Yawn

Chester Zoo
form Italy!

17th July Mon - Went to watch Ellys compete at school where she laughed her head off in the wheelbarrow race

18th July Tues - Hot Hot Hot day. Went to lunch with Jo, Max, Janet, and Lynsdsey to Willow pool. I had the yummiest steak pie with gravy and mash. The place was a nursery, restaurant and antiques store in one. Started to feel weird and nervous about going tomorrow. I said bye to Ellys as she was staying at her Dads. I am so glad I don’t have to wait 2 years to see her and everyone here again.

19th July Wed - I did a shocking last minute pack scoffed down some toast and made a nutella sandwich for the road. I threw out my blue thongs which I regret as I should have framed them. They got me through 5 months of travel with 2 blowouts in Germany, and I had them for about 3 years before I started travelling. I had some anxiety, said goodbye to Jo and Max, and thanked Jo for everything and I will be seeing them all when I come back. I had a great 3 weeks spending time with friends and relaxing. It was nice to just be in the one spot for a while after some constant travelling and shenanigans in Germany, but I am now also looking forward to my new adventure, Africa, a place that has intoxicated me my whole life.



Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 30


Advertisement

oooooohooooooh
ooooooh

Chester Zoo
Mates back together againMates back together again
Mates back together again

Nicole and I in Manchester's oldest pub
Me and Old TraffordMe and Old Trafford
Me and Old Trafford

Bit dark but...
The StadiumThe Stadium
The Stadium

Manchesters only stadium!!!


Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 22; qc: 92; dbt: 0.1117s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb