London - The First Few Days


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
September 5th 2017
Published: September 9th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Day 1 - The Flight
"Took the midnight going aanyywhere"... lol. Super late flight leaving Brisbane but it worked out ok. Got a window seat and a spare seat beside me so I had plenty of room to relax and snooze for a bit. Arrived at Bangkok airport early in the morning for a stopover. Thanks to my new friend Rebecca, the 6 hours of 'try this super hot stir fry (then subsequently try this super cold ice cream)' did not seem so bad!
The second flight was LONG but a few naps and a few movies later I finally arrived. Exhausted and thanking my pre planning self who booked into a hotel at the airport, I can finally sleep (and probably more important - shower).

Day 2 - London Tourist (24,636 steps)
Being a tourist is always fun. I visited Oxford Street, Westminster Abbey, Big Ben, Trafalgar Square, St James Park, and Buckingham Palace. I'm definitely on my way to being a local though because a) I've made several tube journies without asking for directions, b) I got asked for directions by a tourist (to which my answer was to shrug my shoulders until they went away lol), c) I've already mumbled "bloody tourists" under my breath, and d) the sun came out for 30 seconds so I sat in a park to enjoy it. I also saw several squirrels and didn't squeal with delight. Success!
Tonight I joined a night bus tour. Braving the freezing wind on the open top deck of a double decker was worth it because London's old stone buildings look amazing all lit up at night.

Day 3 - Portsmouth day trip (11,197 steps)
Today I went to Portsmouth to visit Jane. 2 hours each way on the bus to be by the sea. After a lovely lunch we went up the Spinnaker Tower and luckily the rain stopped for just long enough to see all around. Jane pointed out her house, and we saw the harbour and the Isle of White. Then we went to the "beach" lol. It was freezing and windy and pebble-y but completely worth it. There is something about walking along the ocean that relaxes and invigorates every time (except for my freezing cheekbones - they were ready to pack up and leave lol). Alas the time was too short and I had to catch my bus back to London before it got too late.

Day 4 - Royalty to Greenwich (17,452 steps)
The Queen is my all time favourite public figure living or dead. I love her poise and silent stoicism yet how she can laugh at Prince Philip's nonsense. She has aged gracefully and is dignified in everything she does. This morning I visited the staterooms of Buckingham Palace where she, and many totals before and after her, entertains dignitaries from around the world (no pictures inside the Palace). It was amazing! I stood where the Queen has stood. I walked down the halls where she ran as a child. Visiting Buckingham Palace was everything I ever wanted and more. Then, as you do, a spot of Devonshire tea in the Garden Cafe overlooking the lawn where the Queen holds her garden parties, and a walk through the gardens behind the Palace. More perfect than I could have imagined.
This afternoon I went to Greenwich. I visited the National Maritme Museum and learnt all about the battle for Trafalgar and how the Brittish discovered the rest of the world and traded with Asia and won wars etc. Then I went to the Queen's house where the Royals stayed when in Greenwich. I like Greenwich because it really is a village, not a city like London. Cuteness everywhere!


Additional photos below
Photos: 56, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



9th September 2017

Love your Blog
Thank you Pauline! I feel as tho I'm there with you while I'm reading your blog, you have done so much already! I'm so happy for you, this is certainly an adventure you will never forget! Take care and stay safe ❤️
10th September 2017

Wow
Thanks for sharing. Learned lots and saw things I never saw before. Feel like I have joined you on your travels. Keep safe and enjoy.

Tot: 0.235s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.049s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb