Carry on Cabin Crew


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
July 25th 2010
Published: July 28th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 51.5084, -0.125533

Well, thanks to Miss Barker's wonderful taxi service, we made it safely to Parker's Piece for the coach journey. The motorway was closed, but fortunately our camp driver knew his way "round the back roads." Arrived at Heathrow with plenty of time to spare and waited for our 3 hour flight to Helskini. I said it would be great. a film, some food, some wine and then an arrival in Helsinki with a ice short transfer time to get the flight to BKK.

No such luck. Inflight entertainment? Negative. Open bar onboard? Negative. Capable cabin crew with gourmet dinner? Negative. Incompetent staff and a 1 hour wait on the tarmac before getting airborne? Check! We both began to get nervous as we only had 45 minutes to connect in Helsinki before our plane left for BKK... an hour late.... I'm no mathmetician but that put us 15 minutes behind schedule.

I asked the "helpful" cabin crew what could be done and she said not to worry as there would be signs up on the plance later. Helpful love, thanks. I want the plane held please, not a sign telling me I've missed my flight. I could work that out from the lack of an aeroplane for me to get onto...

Then they served the drinks. Did Stacey want coffee? No thank you, she did not. However, 10 seconds later, Stacey got her coffee. All down the back of her t-shirt. Nice one! Thanks again! Then they served the evening meal. A ham and cheese sandwich. Those who have eaten/travelled/shopped with me in the past will know the next question already, "does it have mayonnaise?"
"No, I would not think so."
I checked.
"Erm, excuse me, sorry to bother you again, but it does have mayonnaise in it."
"Oh."
"So, is there an alternative I could have?"
"Did you order a vegetarian meal?"
"Erm no, I'm not vegetarian, I am just allergic to mayonnaise."
"You can buy a snack from the next cart."
"What do you have?"
"Peanuts. 5 Euros."
"hmmmmm........ no thanks!"

Picked Stacey's sandwich apart. Mayo only on the bottom. I ate the top half. The bottom half came in handy for mopping up the diet coke I spilt during the turbulence.

Checked the time. Still running late. I asked a different hostess, "We are connecting in Helsinki onto the Bangkok flight, will we make it?"
Her helpful reply? "Maybe we will, maybe we won't. We will see when we get there." Oh, you're a treasure love!

Anyway, we made it. Best connection ever. Off the plane and walked onto the other one. Brand new,.personal entertainment system and lovely food. Done.

Note to self. No short haul flights with Finnair in the future.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.156s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0679s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb