Another day in a city on a public holiday


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
May 25th 2006
Published: June 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

01 Belgian coast01 Belgian coast01 Belgian coast

Looking down on the beach
Geo: 51.5002, -0.126236

Another wet day in Belgium. Checked out of the room and left my bag at the hostel for a few hours. Wanted to do some last minute shopping. Little did I realize that today is Accension Day- which meant a public holiday. Brussels was very quiet and shops were all shut. We found a bookshop and had a browse until the cafes opened for breakfast. Then bought a little box of chocolate- the last for a while.

Walked back to the hostel and got my heavy bag and headed to the airport. Decided to fly back to London, as it was only 58 euros for a flight and 42 euros for an 8 hour bus!! There was no way I was getting a bus, when I could fly for about an hour. Have had enough of long bus trips for a while. Checked in my bags- 29.7kg all up!! Imagine if I had bought souvenirs along the way. The lady was nice enough not to charge me for the excess weight.

Before long I was back in London on the tube heading to my hostel. Hostel is a bit out of London, seemed to be in the suburbs, the area
02 Suburbs02 Suburbs02 Suburbs

Suburbs of London
doesn't seem too dodgy though. Ahh, back to the pollution of a large city. Hope not to stay here for too long. Although will be good to just veg out for a few days.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.148s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0255s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb