East of Hyde Park seems best for me


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
July 11th 2016
Published: July 11th 2016
Edit Blog Post

I have been trying to pinpoint where in London most of the stuff I want to visit is located and while it is of course spread out over the city, there are areas where markers are much more close.

I think this pretty much typical for most tourists that visit London but east of Hyde Park from around Oxford Street up to Kings Cross and Down to The Towern and back to Westminster. Inside that odd square is a lot of what I want to visit. Typically that would place one of the best spot to book a hotel somewhere in Mayfair or just east of it.

I have checked the hotel prices in that area just to be sure but it felt that they should be really expensive and so they were. This has moved me to the option to get a hotel or maybe even a nice hostel as close to this as possible to price that fits my budget but still allows me to live closely to the city so I can walk around a lot. For me it's no problem walking 20-30 km in a city for a day but I also know that just walking around is tougher than someone might think on forehand and it usually runs away to a long distance by just moving between places in an area. I mean I can easily walk a few kilometers when I'm shopping inside a shopping center so.

There are a few nice hotels and hostels up towards the Kings Cross Station and I like that position somehow. Down towards Westminster feels like a day trip and I'm done with that area. I'm not even sure if I want to ride the London Eye or if I should aim for a visit at the top of the Shard instead. Time will tell for sure.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0328s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb