D32: Back to the UK I go... this is it!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
August 1st 2013
Published: August 1st 2013
Edit Blog Post

Alright, quick entry today - it was another travel day as I bussed back to London. Of course it was uncharacteristically hot and humid in both Paris and London... go figure. I almost melted into the sidewalk with all my bags in Paris, and then in London the same but in the Tube. They need better ventilation... there is nothing worse than a muggy Tube at rush hour.

Ok, ok sorry. Weather updates aren't fun haha. Back to the drive!

Megabus has awesome drivers here - they've all been nice and funny. This one was particularly amusing on the PA at the start of the drive. When he did his ramble about the rules of the coach and such he basically just made bad joke after bad joke... we actually clapped when he finished. He was a sport, he was.

I think the best was his talk re: the toilet... and how we best not be doing any "number twos" because he has a window upfront, and we do not. He also had this gem:

"Alright, ladies and gents listen up. Now. Gents, you'll all be ladies and have a seatie - because if you don't, I will brake, and you will mess your trousers... and then everyone will laugh at you."

He was a good driver haha. And as we approached the EuroTunnel before a driver change he noted: "Alright, we're taking the tunnel instead of the ferry (UGH BOO!), so get ready for the most boring drive of your life!"

It's sadly accurate. The Tunnel is such a waste of beautiful scenery.

So, the border went a lot better than I expected. I had been worried because I'm trying to enter as a tourist for the second time before my visa starts... and back at Heathrow the guy told me I'd have a really hard time this time around. But I guess I lucked out - my guy seemed like he just couldn't be bothered with life... must have just been one of those days on the job for him because he could not care less that I had an upcoming visa and he barely even looked at me. That was too easy haha.

Upon exiting the tunnel I had that weird moment where I was concerned because we were on the wrong side of the highway... ahem. Ah yes, then I remembered we were in the UK. How silly of me.

So... that's that?

It feels weird wrapping up a travelblog when I'm not in fact coming home... it kind of really hit me while I was on the bus that holy crap... I'm not getting ready to fly home.

I'm still not ready to talk about it. This still is not real ahahaha.

Anyway, thank you once again for joining me on this journey... but really, I feel this one is just beginning! I'm going to wrap my blog up here because now the real-world stuff is starting up and I have another blog for that. If I haven't emailed you the other link and you want it, you can email me, drop me a message, or ask someone in the family and I'm sure they'll pass it along.

So, cheers! I'm off to start my real adventure.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.333s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 43; dbt: 0.1095s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb