From One Fireworks to Another - The Beginning of the Unplanned UK Trip


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
December 27th 2012
Published: January 10th 2013
Edit Blog Post


When London is calling with a very cheap year end airfare- how can you say no?
It all began with a lousy new year's firework in Auckland, New Zealand. It was just several small fireworks flying off from one tower. Even Hong Kong Disneyland's throws bigger and better fireworks every night for their show. Then a friend suggested to go to London the following new year as they throw better fireworks party. I grinned. I don't even think its remotely possible for me.

But then again, that's life. Full of surprises. I somehow "accidentally" found a cheap year end ticket (only 977 SGD, SG - London return, inc tax) and somehow I got my visa. Even I was surprised how everything really did fall to their places. Sincere proof of my genuine "shock" is that I only scramble to do my real itinerary in a week, while usually I do it in 2-6 months.

There's only one catch though. I have to do this trip alone. I've had solo trips before. But its always just couple of days. The rest? Well somehow there's always someone accompanying me. I guess no safety net this time.

I will spend 2 weeks in UK, covering England and Scotland. Going to London, !Bath, Oxford, Edinburgh, Manchester and York. Due to weather risk I do not dare to take a chance and add Ireland. Its going to be pretty full 2 weeks I guess.

To my surprise, the Vietnam Airlines wasn't that bad. The flight were on time. My bag arrived safely. They have in flight entertainment system (with touch screen) although the movie selection is not as comprehensive as Singapore Airlines. But then again its half the cost.

As I drifted asleep, I thought to myself, somehow I'm not that scared anymore...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb