To The Sea Side


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
March 13th 2012
Published: March 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

The UK travels continue!



Brighton was such vibrant place! There was a maze of cute boutiques scattered around itself with a pretty fountain in the middle and a smattering of chairs for having tea or lunch.



Brighton is the sunniest place in England, which means very little. Nevertheless, the slightly more frequent caress of the sun’s fingers was very cheery. The beach is made of rocks, not sand, but I think this is not something that bothers Europeans.



I saw the drunkest people I’ve seen in England in Brighton. There are tons of bars and clubs up and down a few streets and even down on the beach. Unruly teens promenade around wearing anything from matching full-body leopard-print spandex body suits to Robin Hood costumes. They drink, they dance, they yell and whistle. They must be intoxicated by the mystery of the night air mixing with the daring of their own audacity. It’s wonderful!



It was nice being there with Katie we had a lot of fun. When we weren’t napping 😉



Brighton is also a poppin music scene. I’m told that certain bugs (hint hint THE BEATLES) spent a considerable amount of time there. Walking on the street I came upon a Blues Band rocking out. It sounded like we were in the American South it was incredible. I’ll try to upload a video I took later on.





I came back to London and went to the National Library. It was crazy I saw original manuscripts of things like Sydney’s Arcadia, Hendel’s Messiah, notes from Milton’s research for Paradise Lost, Wordsworth’s notebook containing “We Are Seven” and original folios of Shakespeare’s work. Jane Austen’s writing desk was also on display as was one of four remaining copies of the original issuing of the Magna Carta.



It was amazing to see the musings of some of the most foundational members of the Western Canon. It made greatness in art seem slightly more tangible to see their scribblings and crossings-outs and their toiling over stubborn ideas and words that refuse to be perfect. (That is also what I do with the blog. NOT ahahah)



I also went to Covent Gardens. I tripped on a step and fell over. My pants were also low-rise and I think that a significant portion of the top section of my rear was exposed as I was tumbling to the ground. My knee smarted horribly after this humiliating ordeal but I limped away like a maimed giraffe because my pride hurt much, much more.



I’m just messing around London for now and spending some time with Kiran’s friends from RADA. I’m lucky my best friend has such good taste in friends J



Vince is either coming tomorrow or meeting me in Barcelona!!! It will be so good to see him I hope he hasn’t grown taller….

Advertisement



Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0537s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb