London Layover


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
April 29th 2006
Published: May 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I left Uganda and headed for London's Heathrow Airport knowing it would be my first time in an English speaking country in one year. I was looking forward to a day back in "civilization" and to see my friend Maria.

The 8-hour flight was easy and I found my way to the London Underground and towards Chelsea Harbour. It was a bit strange to see so many white faces after spending the last four months in Africa. I was no longer unique as everyone else was a Mazunga!

I meet up with Maria and her friend Michele at Michele's apt in Chelsea. The apartment was very posh and I realize the comforts I had been without for some time....deep carpeting, soft leather couches, nice plush towels, clean surroundings, a washing machine.....it is amazing the elements people in the third world countries can live without. Or live without cause they ain't got it.

I took a few moments to unwind before we headed out for dinner. I asked to take in a few of the sights on the way to dinner (Big Ben, Parliament, etc.).....I chose to go to NOBU as I had been craving sushi for sometime. Of course NOBU was full when Maria called, so I called back, told them I was just in from Uganda and heading back to Africa tomorrow...and I really would love to eat there...and whalla...I got a reservation! It is good to know that after a year on the road I still got the skills to slip in a reservation at a nice restaurant. Ah, crab in spicy sauce, miso cod, tuna sashimi salad....Absolut with cranberry Juice (no lemon, no lime)! It has been a while!

The following morning I blew off my flight and headed off with the girls to a local pub to see the football match between Chelsea and Manchester United (the pub is right around the corner from the Chelsea Football Stadium). After celebrating with the Chelsea fans, Maria took me to her father's house outside of London which is currently under renovation. They are practically redo-ing the entire house. The parts that were finished look amazing and I wish her father well with the project (the workers on the project are two Polish men who do amazing work...welcome to the EU!). We took in a local eatery for dinner before crashing as my flight to Morocco was scheduled to leave very early the following morning.

Well, it is back to traveling the African continent. I enjoyed my time back in the First World...and thank you Maria for being my tour guide for two days.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Maria, Michele and IMaria, Michele and I
Maria, Michele and I

We enjoy some food and drink as we watch Chelsea capture the Premiership on the tele with a 3-0 beating of Man U.
Chelsea WinsChelsea Wins
Chelsea Wins

I pose with fans on the street after the victory.
Crazy Larry'sCrazy Larry's
Crazy Larry's

Michele and I stand in front of the best store in all of England.


12th May 2006

Hot
Michele is hot kid

Tot: 0.471s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 43; qc: 176; dbt: 0.1921s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb