Day 28 - Guildford to London, England


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
September 14th 2006
Published: September 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Thursday September 14th, 2006
Day 28
Guildford to London, England

I was up early this morning even after a very late one getting back last night from Mallorca. I packed up all my stuff from Chris's house and him and his mum dropped me at Woking Station to catch the train into London for my last day. After my 20minute trip on the train I arrived at Waterloo Station. I jumped on another train and made my way to meet Kate and drop my belongings at her place. Then she joined me on my Monopoly Day.
While doing this we came across a memorial for the millions of animals which have been killed in conflict (during wars) while serving for their country. The Animals in War Memorial is situated at Brook Gate, Park Lane near Hyde Park.
Getting back to my Monopoly Day. I had decided even before leaving Australia to come here that I wanted to go around London finding every street on the original Monopoly board. It was interesting how the areas were so much like how much they were worth according to the board (e.g., Whitechapel was really dodgy and Mayfair was stunning). After a whole day of this, jumping on and off buses, and catching about a million different trains, and with Kate ditching me half way to go to work, I'd had enough. I made my way back to Kate's to get my stuff, then back to Nick's to collect all the stuff I had left there and to try and repack my bag. I went to bed fairly late after having a shower and stuffing all my stuff in my bag (thank goodness Nick had some of those space saver bags). I figured it would be good to be tired as maybe I would actually sleep on the flight. Oh how can one be so wrong?
Naww, my last night in London, it was kind of sad but kind of a relief to be going home to my creature comforts, all the things I've missed about home.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.631s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 17; qc: 74; dbt: 0.1253s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb