Thanksgiving weekend


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
December 7th 2009
Published: December 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Celebrating Thanksgiving in another country is always interesting. Of course, we don't get that day off, even when working for a US company! So, I was in Leicester the week of Thanksgiving. However, my brother and sister-in-law decided to host a dinner on Saturday afternoon, which was great. My sister and I headed over during the morning and had a chance to hang out and play with the nephews. I also tried to take a few family photos of them, but I'm not sure how many of them are usable since the almost 4 year old wasn't in the mood to cooperate. :-)

For the actual meal, Charles and Erin had invited some good friends of theirs who are in the middle of moving to Oxford. We all ate extremely well. There was turkey, stuffing, potato casserole (Mom's recipe), roasted veggies, veggie casserole, jello salad, and homemade rolls. For dessert, there was pumpkin pie and apple pie. Erin has a friend that also has Celiac's (like Karen) and this friend made Karen a small gluten-free pumpkin pie. We ate until we were bursting! Karen and I stuck around for a little bit longer to visit, but then headed home. We even brought home some leftovers, so I was able to continue the feasting for a few more days.

Here are some pictures from the weekend.

Thanksgiving weekend


Advertisement



Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 12; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0692s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb