Winning the sack race


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
January 30th 2009
Published: February 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

SculptureSculptureSculpture

Hippodrome
As has become the norm, I had a few days in London as a buffer between the ordered existence of home life and the randomness of a new trip. I chose a seat in the "quiet" car of the train down to King's Cross, with the advertised silence rent by the spoiled bleatings of an unruly child, cellphones going off, laptop noises, and a lengthy laughter-filled conversation conducted by a nearby group of ladies. I guess I must have entered the "quiet if you have earplugs" car by mistake.

Of the 6 people I met up with on my nights in the capital, 2 had recently been fired and there were further stories of mutual friends who were now unemployed. That's more jobless friends than I can remember having since I left university. But I see such events as providential. It can be a stressful, painful, lying-awake-at-night-for-weeks decision to quit your job and do something different - at least that's how it was for me - and to have someone take that decision out of your hands by firing you, and then giving you a severance package into the bargain, is surely a sign. When you know the coming months, maybe years, will see depressed salaries, low morale, and an increase in "keeping the lights on" activities, what better time to be out?

So do it, Chris. Make a change. You won't regret it.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

BuildingBuilding
Building

Leicester Square
BuildingBuilding
Building

Leicester Square
FountainFountain
Fountain

Trafalgar Square
Chandos pubChandos pub
Chandos pub

Trafalgar Square


Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0578s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb