All those who wander


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
April 20th 2008
Published: April 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Often I get distracted and just wander. Whether for a few minutes in thought or for a few weeks in actions. Here's a bit of some places I've been since I last entered a blog. Having a few problems with the photos. Hope to get that solved another night.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

China town street hustlersChina town street hustlers
China town street hustlers

He tried to charge $80 for this picture! It totally unnerved him that I took this over his shoulder. The others to the left appeared to be in on the scam.
China town China town
China town

I visited China town hours after the Olympic torch passed through. I had no desire to get caught up in the demonstrations.
China town entertainmentChina town entertainment
China town entertainment

I’m not sure what a diggery-do and Chinatown have in common, although he was monitored by some very serious people. Not sure what side of the law they were on. He wasn’t even very good!
National Portrait MuseumNational Portrait Museum
National Portrait Museum

One of the few street musicians who sounded half way decent. No worries, he got paid for this shot outside of the museum.
Picadilly Circus diversPicadilly Circus divers
Picadilly Circus divers

This is probably the only grace thing in this section of Londo
The Mother and The ChildThe Mother and The Child
The Mother and The Child

by Helen Sinclair (2000). While on a treasure hunt, dodging the mob of Fulham soccer (football) fans, I found myself looking for this bronze sculpture on the grounds of All Saints church. It was in one of the most forgotten depressing cemeteries I’ve seen in a long time.
The Fulham crushThe Fulham crush
The Fulham crush

While Sightseeing in London is a contact sport, having to make your way through a crowd of drunken soccer fans adds a whole new meaning to the adventure. Check out the horse's eyewear.
Looking upLooking up
Looking up

Sometimes looking up is nearly as rewarding as smelling a rose
Hustled ticketHustled ticket
Hustled ticket

Yes, on the LAST day of the sold out exhibit of China’s terracotta army I walked in and bought a ticket at face value off a lady who’s daughter was two freaked out about the 2 snowflakes to brave the journey to the museum. It was a good exhibit. I found all the security and theatrics to be amusing. If you get a chance to see this exhibit take the opportunity and don’t let a few snowflakes stop you.
Children's Terracotta soldiersChildren's Terracotta soldiers
Children's Terracotta soldiers

School kids made these. The amount of dust balls gathered around these newest temporary displays at the British Museum made my flat look squeaky clean.
The Nereid MonumentThe Nereid Monument
The Nereid Monument

The amount of "stuff" in the British Museum is a bit overwhelming and surreal.
Aphrodites I thinkAphrodites I think
Aphrodites I think

Museums leave me torn between the drummed in knowledge that they are preserving history, and the uncanny sense that they have no understanding about the essence of history.
Street artStreet art
Street art

Mill's Court. An hip graffiti place, with notables like Banksy tagging a wall. The wording at the bottom says "consume."
Not on the mapNot on the map
Not on the map

While night "treasure hunting" in an arts college neighbor hood I saw this as I was crossing a street.
A boxer, pub, and meA boxer, pub, and me
A boxer, pub, and me

The amount of tourism focused "history" is facinating. At least this boxer did more than sleep here.
It was a dark and deary nightIt was a dark and deary night
It was a dark and deary night

Rainy too. This is the common area in front of my flat. My place is off to the left about 30 feet.
And at the end of the dayAnd at the end of the day
And at the end of the day

It all comes down to propaganda


28th April 2008

what the?
why are the pictures blurred out?

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0399s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb