Family Brunch outside, food coma ensues.


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
February 25th 2008
Published: February 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So I don't think I've done a good job of keeping this updated with my activities over the last week or so, so I'll try to do a better job of that from here on out. The problem with not writing about things as soon as they happen throughout the week is that when I finally do sit down to write, all of the events are kind of muddled in my head and I don't remember what days they happened on. I know that they were perfectly wonderful and had all kinds of interesting details associated with them, but no one else does.

Well, I think I can remember back about as far as Thursday evening. I saw Oscar Wilde's, The Importance of Being Ernest at the Vaudeville Theater in the west end. I wasn't really familiar with the play, other than a general understanding of the concept behind the plot. The acting was really quite good and the play entertaining all the way through; essentially a comedy of manners and comedic take on social customs and interaction. Thoroughly enjoyable evening in all respects.

This weekend was also very nice. On Saturday, Jackie and I met up with Casy and Travis at a market in Dalston (I believe it's pretty close to Hackney). It was the end of the market day, so all of the people working at the stands were dropping their prices significantly to try to clear their produce since the market isn't open on Sundays. I will definitely have to go back because the prices were much lower than Borough Market or Tesco and the experience of walking around in the market is worth the 25 minute bus ride. Saturday night we went out to a Cuban bar called Cubana, there was live music (Cuban, of course) and I'd like to go back to get food there as it all looked and smelled delicious. Speaking of delicious food, we had family brunch on Sunday. The back door of our flat has had a lock on it, even though the students in the flat across the hall can get out of theirs. So Casy managed to bypass the lock (we put it back later) and we carried tables outside and set up brunch there. In attendance: Rachel, Jordan, Tim, Kara, Casy, Travis (Casy's boo lover), Jackie, and her gentleman friend, Matthieu. The Menu: french toast, scrambled eggs, hash browns, fried plantains, bacon, fruit salad, orange juice, coffee. Amazing.

Today has been pretty uneventful but not in a bad way. Went to a few stores with Casy and then worked on an application for a summer internship. I should get some homework done before I go to sleep too.




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0372s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb