I found Nemo


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
October 24th 2005
Published: October 24th 2005
Edit Blog Post

He was in a shopping centre near where I am staying.

London is pretty much exactly what I thought it would be like. A busy metropolitan, shoppers PARADISE with a very quaint charm that I had underestimated before I got here. Yes- it is dirty and dreary but there is a little magic too, so that is fine by me… so far anyway.

I have decided that no item of clothing I have ever owned has cut it, but I keep going shopping and coming back with nothing because I see SO much that I can’t make up my mind. Oxford Street was lots of fun and was extremely busy. I managed to get my bank account sorted out so now I have an English card (for which I didn’t even get asked for my pin the other day!) -which is terribly exciting. Now I just need to get some English pounds to spend off it!

I am staying with Tim, Rachel and their children Caitlin, Jesse and Maia. They are all very cute children, and Caitlin even has a little English accent (much to her father’s disgust!) We all went to feed the squirrels in Hyde Park
Tim and Rachel's flat.Tim and Rachel's flat.Tim and Rachel's flat.

Where I am staying
on Sunday which was lots of fun, it’s like the English equivalent of feeding ducks. They cracked me up because instead of eating the nuts they open them and then burry them everywhere- logical I guess but not quite the same as ducks.

This Friday I am going to move into Maida Vale (next to Notting Hill) where I am house sitting for some friends of mum and dad’s Marcus and Eric who are jaunting off to Amsterdam for 6 months (maybe they will run into Jessica). So that is FAB because it means that searching for a job (while depressing) is not as urgent! AND I get to live by myself in a cute little apartment and leave all my expensive shower products in the shower and food in the cupboards without fear of pillaging AND leave my dishes till the next morning and malt hair to my hearts content (which of course I will clean up before they get back, Marcus did show me where the leaf blower was). If that last comment was strange it is because I appear to be losing hair at an alarming rate at the moment and I hate seeing it everywhere…

Just in case I was going to get lonely when I first moved in Eric and Marcus’s friend Fillipe is going to lend me Errol for a few days to hang with. Errol is a (medium sized) green parrot. We are planning on watching cable and eating sunflower seeds together.

Job hunting -yes I have started, and have had no response as yet that was not automated or a rejection. Did I mention how much I love job hunting?


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Jesse and CaitlinJesse and Caitlin
Jesse and Caitlin

Looking at the horse riders from the nearby central London stables.
Rachel and MaiaRachel and Maia
Rachel and Maia

Feeding the squirrel
Tim looking at foreignersTim looking at foreigners
Tim looking at foreigners

(they must be becuase they are feeding pigeons)
SquirrelSquirrel
Squirrel

Front view.
SquirrelSquirrel
Squirrel

Back view.
Jesse has the ideaJesse has the idea
Jesse has the idea

She chases the pigeons
Still chasing.Still chasing.
Still chasing.

She takes it very seriously.


Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb